You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's funny about that?

in Deep Dives4 years ago

I'm not cut out for manual labor - though doing it reminds me what humans can get used to.

My brother in law came to the farm to help with harvest (before they were married). As we were washing up for lunch he looked in the mirror and said "I'm way too handsome to be a farmer." My brother and I weren't amused, and that may have been the high point of my relationship with him. Manual or at least semi manual labor involved :)

Is it humor that is leaving? That could be it. It could be that we are as you say 'siloed into ourselves' Where almost nobody but me matters. It's a pretty tragic picture.

When I'm feeling really good about life I think that most of the noise I hear is actually put out by a very small percentage and that most people are actually OK. But in reality, influencers influence and every body wants to be like Mike.

Sometimes I'm really glad I'm old, that my life is essentially lived.

Sort:  

I am guessing the delivery was poorly timed :D

Where almost nobody but me matters. It's a pretty tragic picture.

It makes - people sit alone at their screens, laughing at their own jokes.

I think it is only a small percentage, but that minority is given spread through traditional media too. Many articles now post Twitter comments as content as "proof" of public sentiment.

Sometimes I'm really glad I'm old, that my life is essentially lived.

I fear for moy daughter more - I have been around the block enough not to take this stuff too seriously in relationship to myself. most in my age group are still affected, those younger much more so.

I think it is only a small percentage, but that minority is given spread through traditional media too. Many articles now post Twitter comments as content as "proof" of public sentiment.

I can't tell you how crazy I get when I read an innerwebs article and it ends with tweets that 'bear' on the story. Like it's some sort of freaking source or something. Aaaaarrrrrggggghhhh.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.