You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paws Off My Cannon

in Deep Dives2 years ago

I am just shaking my head, in a dumbfounded sort of way. I grew up in a country (Denmark) where you absolutely can own a registered firearm, but the underlying mindset is that guns are something farmers might own to shoot crows in their fields, or a few hunters might own, or people might own because they enjoy the sport of shooting (at targets).

The difference is that the social narrative doesn't really include guns in the context of pointing them at other people; in fact, I'd hazard a wild guess that people in Denmark are more likely to point guns at themselves than at others.

I'm somewhat ambivalent towards the "guns don't kill people, PEOPLE do" line of thinking... simply because you have to be at a mindset where your cultural starting point is that taking another person's life if they somehow "trespass" against you or your property is an acceptable response.

For the most part, that line of thinking doesn't exist in most industrialized western nations.

Anyway, still shaking my head...