You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Experimental Gene Therapy is not a Vaccine

in Deep Dives3 years ago

With advancements in this technology, there is now an experimental treatment to cause DNA mutation within humans to make our colds 'less symptomatic'.

It sounds like you might be confusing CRISPR and the mRNA COVID-19 vaccines. The mRNA COVID-19 vaccines do not use CRISPR and they do not alter the DNA of cells. They deliver mRNA encoding a viral protein to your cells using a lipid nanoparticle. Your body then creates the viral protein (called an antigen) and builds immunity against it. But no where is your DNA being edited like CRISPR would do.

As our understanding of molecular biology advances, why wouldn't we refine and improve the definition of vaccine? At the time vaccines were discovered, little was known about how they worked. Now we understand more and have more advanced methods to achieve the same purpose.

Sort:  

I agree there's no CRISPR involved that I've read but as far as changes to DNA, if you ask me, the jury is still out since any long term effects from the vaccines are not known and something as simple as stress can, over the long run, change DNA, epigenetic and environmental DNA changes have long been established.

There's another vital component that he touched upon above which I've found two articles to correlate to. I've been meaning to have done an article on it myself by now by was intercepted by the Easter break period from school and wanting to give the parents a few days off from the kids, trying to concentrate with five kids about gets difficult. Maybe if I am lucky I can get it done tonight.

This is a good point, I can add more intermediary information in this section of the post to make that point clearer.

I also agree that advancements are good and I support your right to choose to be a part of the trials :)

In my head it was thematically linked to this later section where I explicitly show that it is not DNA mutation:

image.png

but I have now updated the post with more information about the successful introduction of the mRNA technique in 2005.

Please would you take a look at the updated section, I agree it was quite misleading and that is not my intention because that would take away from some of my valid points!

The problem with these mRNA vaccines as I see it is that they are programming your cells to make the spike protein on the surface of covid-19. Then your body amounts an immune response to the spike protein.

Just think that through. They are programming your body to basically have an autoimmune reaction. I don't think it is safe and the testing has been inadequate. Some of the people with severe reactions may have already had covid-19, so as soon as their body starts making the spike protein their immune system goes into overdrive attacking healthy tissues.

They also say that the message from the RNA wears off quickly but what if it lasts longer in some people then they think?

I definitely will not be rolling the dice with this technology.