You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sexist Me

in Deep Dives2 years ago

You weren't wrong in your decision to look for a man in the store. Statistically, most men are interested in things, and women are interested in people. The problem was that your prejudgment didn't consider that women are trained to the same standard as their male counterparts. I now take the position that everyone is "ist." You are more trusting of people who are similar to you. The secret lies in how you differentiate between groups of people. I am more trusting of people from my hometown (rurban Canada - a small city in a rural area of Canada) no matter what their DNA, who they love, or what clothes they decide to wear compared to someone in a big city in the USA (as an example).

I also still can't get used to the sight of two men kissing intimately. I'm sorry, I just can't. I know it's hypocritical, especially knowing that I don't mind seeing two women kissing.

I used to cringe seeing boys and girls holding hands in high school. Was it because I was asexual (I'm not) and any display of public affection between two people (regardless of sex or gender) was offensive? No, it was novel, and I was reacting to the novelty. I never see two people kiss in public, or it is so rare I cannot recall seeing it. Seeing a man and a woman kiss is only slightly novel - I have done it myself. Seeing two women kissing would cause me to take notes to improve my technique. Even so, I have never seen overt displays of affection like that. Seeing two guys going at it is just too novel - I've never seen it happen in real life.

Sort:  

Hi there @dwarrilow2002, thanks for visiting! Statistically men are more this or that, and women are more that and this, that's true. And some of the differences can be explained biologically, some culturally and some through a combination. But you agree that knowing all that I still did make a prejudgment, one that was wrong. And I agree completely with your comments on "novelties"; change always disrupts and it takes time to get used to it :-)