You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm going to try my hand at some hate speech...

in Deep Dives10 months ago (edited)

Well I think we need to drop the "hate speech" label.

Get back to calling things WRONG, INCORRECT, etc. but be able to back up WHY those things are WRONG, or INCORRECT. Don't just say it and expect people to agree.

If we have FREE SPEECH then we should be able to say incorrect things. Yet we should also have the ability to challenge those incorrect things with our words.

Right now the authoritarians shut down any challenge to things they want to be the dogmatic narrative. "Hate speech" is one of the many labels they use to accomplish that.

Sort:  

Agree. And the same applies to the other things you mentioned. I mean even that kind of things really happen, the way we are labelling things simply because of some similarities, without considering the contexts just aren't helping. Kind of absurd to be honest.

I am not sure if I want to call everyone who support or go along with such narratives authoritarians, that will be a whole lot of people. Some of them might even really believe they are supporting those values. Having said that, yes, I do think that there are many who do not know or do not care what they are doing. Whether seeing that they can take advantage of it, or simply want to stay "in-group".