You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't say the name, don't memorialize, we don't want copy cats...

in Deep Dives10 months ago

HaHa! Indeed, the more annoying the troll, the more it puts me in the position of testing my tolerance or experiencing its threshold. Everyone has such a threshold. If by tolerance I mean "static agreement", then I have given the term a different meaning and "fixed" it.

"Tolerance" I understand in a context as a dynamic between me and the world. I therefore cannot simply "be tolerant", there is no such thing (as for missing a point of reference), but in context I experience my personal threshold/boundary of what seems acceptable or unacceptable to me. It is therefore highly subjective.

Whereas I think a troll neither challenges nor really engages in such challenging competition. A troll by my definition is an immature will-o'-the-wisp, something that flutters around without making sense, like a speech output device that does just that because of its technical ability to throw out verbs.
A troll by this definition has no address, does not seek dialogue or argument and counter-argument. It just appears somewhere and trolls away after a while. The troll is random and aimless in my mind.
In German, the term exists in the animal kingdom; one says, for example, that the young boar trolls away. Or one says to a child "troll yourself", which means something like "sniff around" or "run around".
A mother who lets her young trolling around, lets them explore the world, has in mind that it may get a bleeding nose, an accident, an uncomfortable encounter as well as a friendly and easy one. She is reasonable in that she does not want to avoid the one and only support the other. For she knows that the world in which the kid trolls around offers everything she cannot do alone.

If the young gets hurt she will have empathy and care for it. If the young gets pleased she will cheer with it. Of course, sometimes she will fail and tell her little troll that it was its own fault to have gotten a bloody knee.