You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are things getting better? More people are becoming aware but is it getting better?

in Deep Dives11 months ago

Honestly? The big bastards in charge won. They always win. We're too divided by small rhetoric like Trump vs Biden, Trump vs Hillary, Obama vs Romney etc. Maybe it's standing outside of the US that alters one's perspective, but it seems to me this whole stolen elections issue is nothing but a paravan to maintain, in the collective American mind, the illusion of democracy. Because it supports the narrative that what the average Joe has to say actually matters. When it comes to who gets the driver's seat on this shitshow that is our world, I doubt very much the general man's opinion matters, in the end.

I think they are fine with people speaking, and dancing on a proverbial stage as long as it doesn't actually remove their power.

I get the same impression. I've seen a lot of people "wake up" (very belatedly) to the whole vax/pandemic issue. This seems to me like controlled "insurgence". Of course you're allowed to speak your mind and think whatever, see? (as long as you still play as we want you to in the end)

I hope things are getting better. But, like you, I think they're getting worse.

Sort:  

The election system has been corrupted for a long time. It is just far more so than it has been before. Why not, they get away with it...

That doesn't mean the concept of elections is a bad one. If we were not going to do elections then with tech the way it is now I think pretty much everything could be replaced by...

Crowdsourcing...

Allow people to subscribe to the services they want. Allow them to not pay for services they do not want.

Good ideas don't require force.