You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Disease of Belief in Authority and Order Following

in Deep Dives4 years ago

I would like to know the non-hyperbolic rationale for supporting these two officers. I realize it's difficult for us, the ones who see them as thugs. But we must realize that the people who support these two officers do not see them as thugs. Do they see them as heroes? I doubt it. Do they see them as some kind of victims? Perhaps.

I've watched news coverage and they just show that they have support. No more detail than that. Is it blind support for anyone in uniform? Are there details we're not seeing?

I'm not trying to make excuses for them. I'm trying to understand the support.

Sort:  

You asked for it. Okay here it goes. We cannot all have personal body guards. You either have to pay your protection money (taxes) to this group of thugs or you may not even have the option with the other thugs.

The rioters gunned a 70-year-old old down in cold blood (David Dorn). If police magically all left their jobs tomorrow, don't you think the commies wouldn't use that to try to create a regime change by doing more of the same?

I didn't ask to replace one hyperbolic argument with another.

leprechauns are allowed to be hyperbolic, especially when they speak the unsavoury truth, so you get my tick of approval :)

People believe the education system and media that perpetually insist the government and its enforcers work for us, and no evidence to the contrary seems to sway them. But maybe I am too cynical.

I do understand that position. It's misinformed, of course. If they worked for us, we could fire them. They think voting is the process, but it's not. If I got a bill for bad service, I could just not pay it. That's not the case with government.

Caitlin Johnstone wrote a new article on top 5 reason people defend this. I haven't read it, but maybe it will answers some things?