You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tactics & Strategies III

in Deep Dives13 days ago

@valued-customer I bow to your superior insight!

Firstly I'd like to thank you for your work, your research and investigation, not to mention your poignant articles (to which i have had many tabs open on my browser, going through them one by one).

And you're from England too!

All that you've written is great great advice! We must form self-reliant mutual aid communities. We don't need communes, though in my time as a volunteer at various places via the helpx.net platform I've come to realise just how many such projects exists around England, on a Co-Op basis, but we need to bring the locals together. Villages connected with villages, towns with towns, and to form a mesh of self-reliance.

Communes are hard as cramming people under one roof, all with their ulterior motives, is a disaster.

Currently I have Stefan Verstappen's entire portable survival library with about 350+ ebooks on all sorts of survivalism and prepping stuffs. Would you be interested in it? I can send you a download link.

Sort:  

"...you're from England..."

I am in the PNW, in the heart of what looks like NPC country on maps, but in fact is mostly villages of self-reliant farmers, loggers, and folks familiar with rock crushers and other heavy equipment. My kinda people! So far my village has not experienced influxes of migrants, infestations of urban progressives, or much in the way of armed oppression from state funded mercenary forces (police). State police do impact the community to a small extent, but our Sheriff's mother lives in the county, and as long as she lives here I reckon he'll do what he can to preserve her felicity, which means he's not going to allow homeless encampments, drug gangs, or immigrant hordes in significant numbers.

So far Pacific City has lived up to it's name.

There are informal communities of folks with interests in traditional crafts, canning, smoking meat, spinning wool, weaving, bushcraft, and folks looking at emergent crafts, CNC, 3D printing, and etc. Combined with a rural tradition of hunting, fishing, bushcraft, and gardening, the rugged mountains, and mighty Pacific resources hereabouts, along with prevailing winds that blow towards the industrial areas of America, I can't think of a better region to dodge or survive most of the catastrophes that might arise, or surely will.

When I was raising my kids and interested in real property I had a look at some intentional communities, as they called communes then, and I confess it made my skin crawl to contemplate life under a soviet-style committee that could decide whether you had a diesel truck or not, or ate meat or not. I much prefer loosely connected communities to tightly integrated consensus ruled ones.

Stefan Verstappen's library sounds extremely useful, and I don't have it, so want it.

Thanks again!