Fauci Opposes New Mask Studies for COVID on Grounds of Ethics

in Deep Dives4 years ago (edited)

Mask studies have been done for decades. In the majority of the studies looking at influenza, the cloth and medical masks offer little protection. They do block some sneezing or coughing droplets from being expelled though, some.

Some data has been collected for mask effectiveness with respect to SARS-CoV-2. N95 masks do better than cloth or medical masks. But medical and cloth masks don't offer significant protection compared to not wearing them. However, this is for one-way protection from the person wearing it.

The push for mask-wearing now is said to be that it stops people who are sick, or alleged asymptomatic people, from coughing or sneezing out droplets into the air and lingering long enough as someone walks by to pick them up before they drop down to a surface or get blown by the wind. One issue I have with this is that if you're asymptomatic you aren't going to be coughing or sneezing, since those are symptoms. Anyways.


Source

It would be good to do randomized controlled trials (RCTs) for COVID infection and mask prevention, like has been done before with influenza. There is a problem with that, Dr. Fauci opposes it.

Fauci spoke with students at Georgetown University’s Institute of Politics and Public Service on July 14. He was asked about doing new studies on masks:

"What kind of studies can we do right now in the middle of the pandemic about masks and transmission of the disease? Or are we just relying on anecdotal evidence because we are not able to do those kind of studies right now?”

Sounds reasonable. Studies vs. anecdotes about how effective they are. But Fauci doesn't want to go for study. He says it's unethical to have people not wear face masks, "because that would mean having people not wear masks and see if they do better." Therefore, no new studies can be done. Convenient.

“Right now, I’m convinced enough in the summation and totality of the data that has been analyzed by meta-analysis that … the benefit of wearing a mask clearly is there and is better than not wearing a mask.”

Is this because he knows of the previous data, and the new data would be the same, so it's better to just tout "new analyses of previous data" shows how effective masks are?

There are recent meta-review analyses published in May. One from the CDC, and another in Travel Medicine and Infectious Disease. They come to different conclusions:

The CDC concludes:

In this review, we did not find evidence to support a protective effect of personal protective measures or environmental measures in reducing influenza transmission.

The other states:

Meta-analyses suggest that mask use provided a significant protective effect.

I haven't looked at each of the studies used in the meta-reviews. Given the size of SARS-CoV-2 is 0.125 microns, which is much smaller than the pores of a cloth or medical mask, they don't offer complete protection from SARS-CoV-2 if it's alone in the air. N95 masks only filter 0.3 microns and above. But if the alleged virus is moving in water droplets, then it can be trapped by the mask. Not that is definitely will, but it can. It can also go through, and around the sides, top and bottom of the mask where air is also coming and going from.

Masks are not without health issues. Breathing issues, chest discomfort or pain and headaches is not uncommon to be experienced. Someone driving with an N95 mask passed out and hit a post last week. Oxygen gets reduced, and carbon dioxide increases.

Sort:  

Oh, man. Every time I see his photo, I want to hork a big gooey spitwad and blow it in his face. I have to be careful I don't ruin my monitor.

They're telling us "wear the thinnest most breathable masks possible and you won't have oxygen issues". Well is that going to protect anyone from anything? Hell no, no masks for healthy people except in high-risk situations.

The whole thing is silly, and trying to get other ppl to see it almost impossible. They are afraid of people with no symptoms who aren't coughing or sneezing and maybe but unlikely breathing out aerosolized virus particles that so small a mask can't even stop anyways.

oxygen issues

Ohhh geeeez. Yeah I don't think he's going to be able to blame that on the mask...

That's sad... what a sad throw... jeez. How embarrassing for him :P

And I started wearing masks years ago just because it thought it was cool.
image.png

Has it had any effect on your repository system, i.e. more or less colds and/or flus? Compare you before you started wearing and after wearing the mask AND you now compared to a "normal" person.

Do you clean it regularly?

I would be interested to hear any comments on long term use from an experienced user?

Sorry if anything comes across like a demand, it's not. I'm just super curious and you have direct experience with something that BILLIONS of people are currently interested in.

Not to put any pressure on you or anything.

p.s. You deciding to wear a mask because "it's cool" is "normal". Being forced to wear a face mask because of a 0.03% chance of death is not "normal".

I wear 'the mask' more for commuting by bike from my work place. I also work as a nurse to be precise. I consider this Covid19 exercise as medical overkill as I'd me more likely be killed in a Traffic accident than die from this virus, I do so wear the masks and various other PPE supplied by my Unit to protect the patients under my care, some are aged and they are the most vulnerable according to the viral profile. I also wear 'The Mask' as to conceal my identity as a Member of Hive's #silvergoldstackers group and I have a fortune of Precious metals in my possession. And therefore reduce my being recognized by people in my hometown who may be tempted to find and target my home. My leather masks are not even close to N95 ISO 9002 standards and are altered for freer breathing. The medical masks I use in my profession are standard Paper single use. They are merely a physical barrier of limited effectiveness and used often in conjunction with other PPE if any patient I have tests positive, and so far none have. I know the statistics.
Any positive cases will prompt staff to the N95 type but it is subject to availability and distribution. I find these single use paper masks uncomfortable and slightly restrictive in breathing but necessary compared to my personal masks which are designed more to keep road moisture, dust and particles from my face as I ride my bike in rush hour traffic. I clean them in soapy lukewarm water.
And finally I wear my leather masks as my alter ego ~ The Bloody Raven, Silver Pirate.

Thank you for the detailed response. I much appreciate it.
I too feel that...

this Covid19 exercise as medical overkill as I'd me more likely be killed in a Traffic accident than die from this virus

I use to ride a motorcycle, I know just how dirty your face gets and the danger of a simple 15 minute ride to the store. I have seen with my own eyes motorcycle accidents that caused death. Almost been killed many times on my bike or or in my car myself.

But I have yet to come across or know anyone with or dead from this "virus that shut down the world"

I hope you own some or all of the tonnes of precious metals in your posession. Hold on tight to it because we are in for one hell of a WILD ride in both precious metals and fiat. But you know that already, stacker.

I'm not a fan of masks in general. I've been wearing a paper bag over my head with glasses when I go shopping. Both in protest of the "mask mandate" and shame of all the sheeple.

Again, Thank you.

p.s. Anyone who has read to the end of this reply, I want you to know that today...

July 29, 2020 the "Spot Gold" price closed at a World Record High of $1971.90 USD!

AND

If you don't currently HOLD any of it as of right now, in 6 months you will wish you had bought some back when it was just $2000.00.

However an even better bet would be to buy silver.

The bus is leaving the station...
Don't miss it.

Already got my golden tickets at around $1300 USD/oz and wishing I could afford more.

Is it still cool?

As the Bloody Raven ... and I'm in an air conditioned room.

Early on, Dr. Fauci said that wearing masks would not be effective (as many studies have shown). Now he is a big believer in masks when cameras are around. His recommendations have proven to be as bad as the first pitch he threw at the Yankees game.

He says it was the right decision then because they didn't think asymptomatic ppl can spread virus, which there is no proof still that they do.

Why can’t they just use ppl out of the pool of millions Americans who don’t want to wear them anyway for testing? Nothing unethical about that...

Yeah, I don't think finding volunteers for the trials would be hard lol