You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canada's hidden history : A human rights disaster, residential schools

in Deep Dives3 years ago

I saw the headline today on my mobile, something about discovering a mass grave in Canada but I didn't click into the link as there's a lot going on.

Wow! I had no idea all this was happening in Canada, and tbh I hadn't really thought about Canada having indigenous people. I mean I heard of it happening in Australia, and to a lesser extent in Taiwan, but this is quite surprising. Reconciling and making good on indigenous tribes always seems like a pretty low priority for governments, hopefully we'll see more on that front from Canada.

Sort:  

It's a big developing story. Many knew it but it couldn't be proven until now. This is going to be so much bigger. they still have many schools to search.

Who knows, we seem to make progress then step backwards. Hard to say what will happen.