Sort:  

In the town where I grew up, cops killed someone I knew for his kilo of coke, and then sold it out of the police station. Small towns aren't less corrupt and unstable than cities.

Freedom isn't dependent on the size of the community, but on the culture of the people in that community.

If possessing guns deranges city folk, then cities are the problem, not people. I don't think they do anything of the sort, but rather the reverse, like being a black belt enables one to not fear confrontation, and not be left with only violence to resort to. Anger is the child of fear. Security in your personal hands eliminates unnecessary fear, and enables one to rationally consider situations rather than lashing out.

An armed society is a polite society. Humanity is not a commune of peaceniks, and violence has marred civiliztion since before history began, but it is well defended people that best enjoy the peace they provide. That's the reason Colt named his .45 'the Peacemaker'.

I've heard of those who are good at cultivating life
Traveling on the road, they do not encounter rhinos or tigers
Entering into an army, they are not harmed by weapons
Rhinos have nowhere to thrust their horns
Tigers have nowhere to clasp their claws
Soldiers have nowhere to lodge their blades
Why? Because they have no place for death

That sounds like Kipling, but I am woefully unread.

However, I do encounter predators in the woods. They run. They run from me because I will kill them if they attack me, and that frightens them. I've never shot a cougar, bear, or wolf, despite being able to. I've no interest in eating any of them (although Bear Bacon is vastly superior to pork bacon in the fall when upland bears (not bears that eat carrion from the dairies or rivers hereabouts) are fattened on berries.

I've been stalked by cougar, faced bear at close range, and managed to keep wolves further away, not because I'm invincible but because I know damn well I'm not and prepare to not be killed. It's not magic. It's not providence, or faith in God.

It's firearms training and access.

I wish everyone was as reasonable and skilled as yourself.

Everyone is more skilled than I at things they do better, and you are as capable of reason as any. I am touched by your kind regard.

If you seek the skills that deter predators I mentioned above, they're easy enough to acquire. Just tremble in your terror at night, alone in the stygian dark woods where wild predators hunt, as I have. You will find the great desire to be secure from such predation will incline you to defend your person with the best available technology to do so, which isn't pepper spray or little bells on your pack.

Fear is your very best friend in the world, but you must listen carefully to understand what it has to say. That means you must give it occasion to speak to you, by being in harms' way from time to time. The alternative is the equivalent of a padded cell, and that's no place to live your life.

You've given me a lot to think about, thank you for your attention.

I will die without free allies. I am happy you are thoughtful. Care may keep you free, and that makes you my ally. Thanks for defending liberty.