You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thinking about the Noto Peninsula earthquake in Japan

in Deep Dives5 months ago (edited)

I was born in Miyagi Prefecture, Japan, and have lived there all my life. My mother's side of the family seems to be a samurai family. My father's side of the family is ordinary Japanese.

My username, Olga comes from the name of the female robot in Japanese artist Osamu Tezuka's animated film "Space Firebird 2772."
One of Picasso's wives was named Olga, so I may have that in my mind as well.

Most of Japanese are ignorant about Russians, so they are not interested in the name Olga.

Sort:  

Very interesting!
All my assumptions based on the nickname turned out to be false)))))
I thought you had Slavic roots for choosing such a nickname.
Perhaps if I had watched the animated film you're talking about, I would have realised it was the name of a character.

My online friends, Anna Panina, Ph.D. in linguistics and researcher at the Institute of Oriental Studies in Moscow, and Florin, a Romanian male English teacher, are big fans of this animated film. Anna watched it aired in Russia in the 1990s and fell in love with the work. I encourage you to watch this film if you have the chance.

I've added this to the list of films demanding my attention, but the queue is long))

Here is a link to Anna's 2772 fan site. I called the title of this animated film "Space Firebird 2772" but this is the title of the English DVD version, she calls it "Phoenix 2772".

http://www.2772.otaku.ru/e_top.htm

Oh, thank you!
I was able to get an impression of this character thanks to your link. I like this animation style more than the current anime trends. I feel like these images are hand-drawn

Thanks for your interest. Osamu Tezuka respected Walt Disney and tried his hand at full animation in this animated film. Well, animation fans may point out some minor flaws.