You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Downvotes & Reward Policing: Abuse of Power or Good for the Platform?

in Deep Dives3 years ago (edited)

Yes, but how would this be added automatically? There is not always one reason for someone applying a flag to a users content. And if you are the target of malicious flags for other reasons than "over-rewarding", then the flagger only has an incentive to lie about the real reason for it. This is how it has been for the longest time on both steem/hive. I have been around and seen this behaviour from the beginning and people don't give an honest reason a lot of the time, or no reason at all. It can also be a whack-a-mole game of deception, for those that control a large amount of stake from multiple accounts. Not all of these accounts earned their stake, if you understand some of the original history of steem.

I never signed up to steemit with the intention of becoming a blogger. It had never crossed my mind. I only signed up to steemit to read content from a few authors I had great respect for that were on this platform (because I didn't realise you could read it without signing up at the time lol). Anyway, I (and a few others) were deliberately targeted for the political opinions of our comments, after only a shot time of being active on a few authors blogs. It was clear as day, that it was deliberate and targeted.

It was actually one of the very first things I blogged about (and how I came across what has now transformed into the deepdives community, and it was retracting my enthusiasm for a so-called free speech platform. Our comments and interactions were being silenced, and for a specific reason. It was not about rewards, as the rewards for making comments were minimal to say the least. Also had no stake to speak of, being a new account (keeping in mind that I really didn't know much about how the platform worked at the time).

https://peakd.com/steemit/@palikari123/targeted-flagging-of-posts-and-comments-from-accounts-heather2000-and-thinkingtime

https://peakd.com/steemit/@palikari123/here-we-go-again-nine-days-later-and-more-mass-flagging

To me, this is what its mostly about . It sucks to have your rewards clipped , but it sucks even more to have your voice/opinion silenced/downgraded by accounts who have ulterior motives other than just over-rewarding. There is a pattern to some of the "over-rewarding" flags, that will never be admitted to. But what really turned me off this place, was the attitude of some of the so-called influencers on here (which I had been aware of for a ling time, and it only got worse as time went by). The attitude that they are superior to everyone else, and that they should have the right to control what information is seen by other users. They still refuse to call this censorship, which is absurd.

Sort:  

I agree with you, and I have brought this up in discord, you make very valid points and they are some of the same points I brought up, but you have obviously been contemplating this for a long so forgive me if I don't know all the nuances of the debate. I made my feelings known in a recent post, downvoting equals censorship, but isn't not allowing downvotes also censorship? Decentralization goes both ways. If there are left-wing accounts on here systematically flagging content they don't agree with, that it is their right as users of this platform to do so. Just because it is their right doesn't make it morally right, it's wrong and a myopic use of the downvote.

I do not fully understand this issue to fully answer everything you mentioned but you have my word that I am being very vocal about this issue in hopes to find a solution. Ecosystems have to be balanced or else they collapse, the feeling that you have and other accounts have that they are being targeted disgusts me. I came to what was then Steemit to remove myself from cancel culture and politically correct swarms and I was tired of my hard work being cut down to shit. I have never been a victim of these downvotes that I know of but as a community, we have to hash this out.

One of the points I brought up in discord is what is to stop a huge entity like google from making a hive account and then just shitting on the content they don't agree with? The answer was that there would be a mutiny. There should be a mutiny right now. The last thing a decentralized platform need is a sense of hierarchy. If you are on discord I would love to chat with you on there bc I would like to find out all the info I can about this.

No need for any forgiveness lol. We are all here to learn from each others experiences. I certainly can't say I understand all of the pieces of the puzzle, but maybe as a community we can create a solution to find some resolution for all parties involved.

If communities are to work as they were intended, then we should be able to decide for ourselves what is overrewarded or spam etc etc. The best way to do that, is simply to not upvote that content or have those accounts muted in extreme cases of obvious plagiarism and so on.

It is also likely that the best way to avoid this type of situation long term, is for each community to have it's own decentralised echo-system, and that way outside actors with overwhelming stake, would have much less influence on how each community operates and governs itself.

@r0nd0n provided some great ideas in this comments section, that I recommend you have a read through.

I think a solution such as this (or similar to it) could be on the way soon. The sooner the better for all!