You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's funny about that?

in Deep Dives4 years ago

No, not funny at all :)
This reminds me of my father. He is someone who thought there should be equity and equality and believed in its true sense the meaning and sentiments of class less society. No, he is not a communist but an atheist in his true form who believes in non-duality.
Guided by these unique philosophies, he made us do manual labour when we were kids. Others would laugh at us and used to tell my father that he is using his sons as labourers to save money. Some would suggest that they know cheap labourers to do the work. But, he never listened to them. To be honest, I never liked it. I thought people are looking down on us and I never understood why we cannot hire someone else to do the job. We were not that poor.
He always said, we need to do our jobs if they do not require expert consultation. Looking back, I think that's a great lesson for kids who are growing up. I never hesitate to do house jobs or any other manual labouring for that matter. I am not saying hiring others to do a job is not good. It's a personal choice but as you said, if you decide to do the job on your own you are making yourself responsible. And, there's also a slight risk that the table you worked on has rough edges with a drawer without a screw 🤣
ra