You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Escape From Samsara

in Deep Diveslast year

Awesome read brother. Though as someone new to this subject it was difficult to digest in anything less than a few hours of focus during the silent period of my early mornings. And I'm not sure how many people are ready for this kind of dedication to a single article! But for those who are able to take it slow and digest at a reasonable pace it is certainly worth it in the end, with so many pertinent connections to our modern world.

‘The immortal soul is more important than the passing world.’

This really is the crux of it hey. My dowsing teacher said very similar words to me just a few days ago when I warned him about the testing times we have ahead. He was aware but unconcerned, more interested to stay focused on teaching others to dowse. Following his Dharma. Though it occurred to me, as a man with a younger partner and children, how it will be difficult for me to leave my body when the time comes and I wonder now if this idea of 'my' woman, 'my' children, 'my' family isn't somehow wrong, ultimately just chaining us to this life, making it harder to bask in the glory of our immortal soul.

And harder still in this modern world which seeks to separate and de-sex us, leaving most people either confused, in long term relationships (growing the 'my') or endlessly searching for the perfect partner. My current focus on the work of Wilhelm Reich has awoken in me a new understanding, that the key to a healthy and grounded life is a healthy sex life, without which one will start to develop neurosis. So what is to be done? Grow the 'my' or endlessly search for it? Either way it is a trap. Better to re-design this crazy world around a new understanding of the word 'family' and let go of our sexual inhibitions which have been instilled in us specifically to facilitate all the problems which come with 'my'.

I have particularly enjoyed seeing your personal evolution during the writing of this article. Your outward journey (around the new year) followed by an inward journey. Your clarity of mind & body, your relentless reading, your pursuit of Dharma and ultimately your disconnection from the outcome (people pay you for your months of labour or they don't) speaks volumes and it has been a joy to bear witness to your transition.

Looking forward to giving you a big hug when you get here!

Sort:  

That is the crux of it Sam and an important mantra to carry through life. The passing world is the circus show, the immortal soul is the observer sitting in the audience. Easy to lose the latter in the former.

According to the Vedic philosophy that I've read anything that creates fragmentation of the unified order is Maya, and therefore the 'me' 'mine' and 'my', whether kids, home, material wealth whatever. I remember hearing about how Native American tribes raised kids collectively as part of the commons, very different to how we do raise children in bubbles in todays competitive landscape. We are so much more effective when we collaborate than when we compete.

Looking forward to seeing you soon and catching up with all your innovation around farming, dowsing, electro-culture, pyramid's etc. What a ride its been for you!