You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Downvotes & Reward Policing: Abuse of Power or Good for the Platform?

in Deep Dives3 years ago (edited)

My curation rewards are absolutely crappy because I do nothing to optimize it. Yes, if you have a large stake you get large curation rewards, but compared to the ROI of those who actually try, mine are terrible.

It isn't because I don't know how to do so either. I've both done successful manual curation and run curation bots in the past, and I had among the highest curation ROI for both. I just don't want to focus on extracting rewards at this point when there is far more to be gained by increasing the value of Hive. With the value circling the drain, focusing on maximizing rewards is fighting for second to last place here. No thanks. Let's get Hive to be worth a lot and then we all do well.

Sort:  

"Let's get Hive to be worth a lot and then we all do well."

I bet you if you considered focusing less on downvoting the work of content creators, more people would feel comfortable telling their friends to come here, and when people start feeling good about HIVE, they'll buy more tokens. It's this kind of (block)chain reaction that'll cause market activity that drives up the value of HIVE in the marketplace.

We don't have enough clout to be ("the literal") 'Soup Nazi' anymore. The decentralized paid social media marketplace is rapidly expanding to places like odysee and theta. Once any given platform perfects the formula, then we've blown our chance at being the first (successful) mover, and folks will migrate there. I don't think you want that. Nobody does. Everyone I know wants HIVE to get good.

Everyone I know wants the "large stakeholders" to get friendly towards lowly content creators that do their all to make this place work. To give you an idea, I could earn more panhandling for a couple of days at an intersection in a homeless man's attire than I did for all these years that I've poured my heart and soul into this platform, and this should let you know that I'm not here for the money.

Although, I do get torqued when people interfere with my earning potential. HIVE might only pay in peanuts, but I worked god damn hard for those peanuts. So please don't be a (hold your tongue and say) peanuts.