Sort:  

Just today I was listening to a former soldier who was at that time in Yugoslavia. The witnesses from the army reported back to the German government that there was nowhere a genocide taking place. They continued to tell them that what was sold in the media was not correct, as they saw that the responsible politician as well as the media coverage did not change the story. Genocide it had to be, genocide it was.

As much as I agree with the thesis of the post about the war propaganda, I have to say… This video of Martinović is another example of manipulation that intends to present Serbs as the ones responsible for the dissolution of Yugoslavia, which cannot be further from the truth. Martinović did not self-inflicted himself, and the federal authorities tried to cover the story, its own incompetence and destructive role in the bloody dissolution.

You're right. Or at least you're right that I should have been more precise in saying that ultimately I can't know what really happened. The one thing I do know is that, as you also indicate, the story has been used to incite hatred, fear and violence, which is what the post is about. I'm glad you've provided us with an alternative viewpoint to the one offered in the video :-)