Sort:  

There were several folks that got raises because of the pandemic, granted several listed below are government workers, but many did get bonuses or raises...

but did they get a raise? Of course not.

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/03/11/starbucks-will-offer-catastrophe-pay-to-baristas-exposed-to-the-coronavirus.html

https://www.bakersfield.com/news/bakersfield-employees-to-receive-3-000-bonuses-for-pandemic-work/article_d361458e-62bf-11ec-aee4-ab39415079cd.html

https://www.sacbee.com/news/local/education/article256741167.html

The next comment I found interesting...

capitalists and their subservient goons at the mainstream media
Most of the media considered to be mainstream are anti-capitalist...far from subservient...goons-yes...

I think that you're right about people quitting because they could find something better elsewhere. As for the bosses with all the money and all that mumbo jumbo...I don't know where you are in a corporate structure, or even if you are, but I've been in corporate America for over 20 years, been a boss for about half of that and I can tell you that most bosses make slightly more than their workers. If you're referring to the CEO's and their boards, well, yes...they make a lot more money than the people on the ground level. However, they're more the exception than the rule. Many folks like to point to them like they hoard cash and swim around like Scrooge McDuck, but the reality is most CEO's are not Fortune 500 CEO's who are paid 8 figures a year. Most CEO's are the mom's and pop's who started a business years ago and are trying to build a retirement for themselves. I do not fault them. I don't even fault the 8-figure income folks. I hope to be one in the next 15 years...truth be told.

I do think your point about people reconsidering their lives is well made. I do think that when you have more time on your hands to consider your place or "how essential" you are, it gives time to pause and think about what you really would rather be doing. This probably should be the Great Reconsideration in line with some of your reasoning.

Thank you for getting my thinking cap on...It was a nice exercise!