Sort:  

Delusion. Hypocrisy. Powerful words @zyx066, as you are undoubtedly well aware. As one of your fellow Americans you disparage with this post, it is with growing sadness and weariness that I read it or anything like it. Wondering what the future holds for us, when the willingness to have civil and respectful discussions about our differences seems increasingly more remote.

I do invest my time to read your posts on occasion, to get a sense of how the "other side" of the growing divide in America views what should be essential to us all - the Truth. I also watch, on occasion, various "news" sources, for the same purpose. From my perspective, in watching them here and there, I am not wise enough to know which should be of greater concern - what is presented as the "truth" or the glaring omissions of any mention whatsoever of newsworthy items which are "inconvenient" ...

Soon "we the American people" (collectively) will register our views on all of this in potentially "unprecedented" (2020 "Word of the Year"?) numbers. Given the overall "tone" of the discourse on both sides, it will be no surprise to me that the outcome is settled in the Supreme Court.

In which case, this woman will likely be one of the 9 people who have been vested with the authority to give the final and binding answer to the question of who won. After passing judgment on the "truth" upon which that decision has been based.

Hey there @roleerob! Nice to see you again :-)

You're right, "delusion" and "hypocrisy" are powerful words indeed, and I stand by them 100%. I'm glad you're aware that the tone of the discourse on both sides is rapidly devolving into virtual barbarism, but there's still the matter of degrees and motivation. I'm not talking about you personally, as I know you to be extremely civil and honest, but my experience with the left and the right tells me that leftists and progressives (or "progressives", as you like to call them in your latest post on ACB) are, generally speaking, the more humane people and frankly the ones who talk and act more in the spirit of Jesus Christ. Your, or anyone's, support for ACB is something I'll probably never understand. Not because of her faith (the leader of all Catholics has just recently endorsed same-sex marriage :-)), but because of her being a self-proclaimed originalist textualist, in particular regarding the constitution, as you remarked yourself. Why would you count that as a positive? That's really beyond me. You're a well educated man, so I presume you know that an originalist believes that the law should be interpreted in light of the time when it was written. Don't you see the obvious problem with that? Fact is that the constitution was written by white men who thought it was okay to own slaves and saw their wives as property as well; both needed to be obedient and were punished if they weren't. You may write the word "progressives" between quotation marks when writing about progressives, but ACB and Trump are regressive, without quotation marks. Just like the fascists of yesteryear they long for a return to "better" times, a glorified past that never existed, Make America Great Again... Look, you said it yourself in your latest post; you said something like that people in general and leftists in particular too often judge Trump on what he says and how he says it, as opposed to what he has done. First, what he has done is criticized by me and other leftists plenty; he has done nothing good. Name a good thing he's done and I'll show you how bad it really is. Second, there's no denying that his rhetoric has incentivized his supporters to use foul language and do heinous things. Have you not seen the surge of far right-wing terrorism and the spike in police brutality against protesters? Trump endorses that kind of (right-wing) violence. To stick with verbal violence for a moment, too often have I seen right-wingers and "libertarians" cry about their 1st amendment right as an excuse to be able to insult leftists and minorities; I'm sick of all those who point to that right while crying about not being able to use the N-word without getting demonetized on or banned from popular platforms like YouTube, Twitter or Facebook. Having freedom of speech does not entitle you to a platform, not online and not on a college campus, and it doesn't protect you from the consequences of your choice of words. So, yes, I use powerful words sometimes, increasingly so in these polarized times. Bottom-line is that America is rapidly sliding down toward fascism under the great orange leader. There are no kind words for that. And if you're a Trump supporter you'll feel personally violated when we leftists call Trump out for being the fascist that he is. I just can not get myself to feel sorry for that, I'm sorry to say. The title of your latest post was "God Help Amy Coney Barrett!" I'd say: "God Help The American People!", for her nomination is one step further down that sliding path...

Hmmm. Would you, in writing this, @zyx066 ...

"... and frankly the ones who talk and act more in the spirit of Jesus Christ."

... represent yourself as one of His disciples?

Whatever I may feel led to say in response, will be dependent upon how you choose to answer this question.

While disappointing to me @zyx066, it is no surprise that you have elected to pass on answering this question. The ensuing "engagement" had a high probability of exposing how deep the delusion and hypocrisy runs in you yourself ...

Only God knows whether there was ever any basis to it to begin with, but I have always credited you with more (relatively speaking) "intellectual honesty" in your work than what I have seen in it over the last while.

I will be removing you from the list of accounts I follow as a result. No real loss to you, I am well aware. In America's spiral downward, if you ever become "woke" by the resulting consequences of whatever is coming in the uhhh ... "great Reset" ..., perhaps I will become aware of it and reconsider.

I won't be holding my breath ...

Vote to support your work. Excellent work. Thanks.

Thank you for your words of encouragement!

Honestly enough again enough with the bashing.

That's kind of hypocritical that you're bashing one wing of the same bird...

Are you only going to beat half of the animal to death?

Bashing? What bashing?

Congratulations @zyx066! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 950 posts. Your next target is to reach 1000 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month