Sort:  

This is thought-provoking and as I learn about how startup operates, I started seeing similar patterns everywhere. In the end, it's about the monopoly that they can create and profit from, Just like you said, "the monopoly that allows them to set the prices all by themselves." I recently read similar tone in the book authored by Peter Thiel who was mentioning about market monopoly and some startup tips. I guess they were all following these similar formula to achieve the success. Also, not only in the US but recently where I live there's an increase of price from these apps.

Thanks so much for stopping by and responding @macchiata ! I'm glad you liked the post and appreciate your thoughts :-)

I've spent years trying to explain to people how obviously exploitative Uber was- but everyone looked the other way because they loved the app and the good deal they thought they were getting. I honestly believe it is mostly a tax/regulatory avoidance scheme.