Preparing for an Indefinite Lockdown - ecoTrain Question Of The Week Season 5 #2: What can you do to prepare yourself for indefinite lockdowns without having to leave your home or move location?

in ecoTrain3 years ago

Hello Hive,

Good day to everyone, I hope you guys are all okay.

2020 for all of us has been a tumultuous year because of the COVID-19 global pandemic. I've never imagined in my entire life that I would be witnessing such a global health crisis. All my life I have heard of the news of war, recession, crimes, drugs, but not about a pandemic.

When the COVID-19 pandemic broke out I thought it will only last for weeks or a month. But I was wrong.

Now, my country has been into community quarantine for about 10 months now that began in March 2020.

The city where I live is still under "General Community Quarantine" or "GCQ".

We now get it, a community quarantine is needed to slow the spread of the COVID-19 virus. But it has negative effects. The most strict community quarantine that we get to experience does not allow us to go outside of our home, in my country it is called "Enhanced Community Quarantine" or "ECQ".

With ECQ only a member of the family is allowed to go outside to buy food. Food packs and groceries are also being delivered by the doorstep (government employees are doing the deliveries).

At the beginning of the community quarantine we are all required to wear a facemask and a face shield. Only a member of the family is allowed to go outside to buy food. Every family has one quarantine pass issued by the government.

In June 2020 the community quarantine has been loosened a little bit into GCQ and we are now allowed to go outside and go to work. Up until this very moment that I am writing this article my city that I live in is still under "GCQ".

But what if the pandemic worsened (God forbid), and an Indefinite Lockdown is being contemplated by the government? Here are the things that I can do to prepare myself and my family for indefinite lockdown without having to leave our home or move location.

Do Homesteading

You don't need a large chunk of land to do homesteading. In fact, you can do it by just using pots and place them right outside your doorstep just like what I did a few years ago.

Here are some of the vegetables that I have successfully grown (a few years ago) using just pots.

A mustard at day 36 (this is a re-used photo from the article I posted on the topic of homesteading a few years ago)
20180928_063559.jpg

A mustard at day 29 (this is a re-used photo from the article I posted on the topic of homesteading a few years ago)
20180920_074504.jpg

A mustard at day 25 (this is a re-used photo from the article I posted on the topic of homesteading a few years ago)
20180916_123142.jpg

A mustard at day 17 (this is a re-used photo from the article I posted on the topic of homesteading a few years ago)
20180908_122458.jpg

A mustard at day 5 before transplanting (this is a re-used photo from the article I posted on the topic of homesteading a few years ago)

20180826_073020.jpg

A mustard at day 3 before transplanting (this is a re-used photo from the article I posted on the topic of homesteading a few years ago)

20180825_205149.jpg

Here's the set of photos of the tomato that I also successfully grown on a pot.

A tomato at the day 29 (this is a re-used photo from the article I posted on the topic of homesteading a few years ago)
20180928_063049.jpg

A tomato at day 18 transplanting (this is a re-used photo from the article I posted on the topic of homesteading a few years ago)
20180916_123000.jpg

A tomato at day 9 before transplanting (this is a re-used photo from the article I posted on the topic of homesteading a few years ago)
20180910_063703.jpg

As you see in the photos that I have shown planting vegetables takes some time, but if you begin now it is more than ready when an indefinite lockdown comes.

If you are new to homesteading there are a lot of videos and articles out there on the internet if you don't know where to begin.

The soil that I used on the vegetables that I grew can also be bought but is not required, soil in your backyard can also be used then augment with organic fertilizer. You can also find videos and articles on the internet on how to make organic fertilizer. In fact, most of the by-products of our everyday cooking can be used as an organic fertilizer.

So what are you waiting for, you can begin now. Homesteading is also very enjoyable and relaxing.

Buy Groceries and Stock Them

Of course, this is one of our priorities, to buy groceries and then stock them. As for me, when payday comes I am always buying groceries that last for two weeks.

The groceries that I will be buying would be those that have a long period of spoilage like sardines, noodles, rice, flours, condiments, and many more.

I'll also be buying bottles of water just to be sure.

I actually have a little vertical rack on my house identical to this photo. I'll be buying groceries that my budget would allow then stock them on the rack in preparation for indefinite lockdown
music2060616_1920.jpg
Rack photo is from Pixabay by maxmann

Buy Medicines, Vitamins, First Aid Kits, and Face Masks

You should not forget to buy medicines. COVID-19 is known to cause fever, cough (pneumonia), aches, and headaches. So you should buy medicines that help your body fight cough (pneumonia), aches, headaches, and fever.

Vitamins are also vital, we have the idiom "Prevention is Better than Cure", so prevent infections or getting sick by strengthening your immune system by supplementing it with vitamins and minerals.

Educate my Young Family Members about the Reality of Lockdowns

Toddlers love to go outside, teenagers too. But during a lockdown, almost nobody is allowed to go outside except maybe to the ones who buy food.

Children of today are very intelligent, once they saw or heard something they will remember it right away.

So, talking to them about the hazard of going outside during the lockdown will make them stay inside (just like what I did to my toddler son, he knew that it is not good to outside these days).

I will also let my family know that the government will not abandon us in times of lockdowns. The government of today is more than capable of doing their job than in the past decades

And those are the things that that I can do to prepare myself and my family for an indefinite lockdown (God forbid).

There are a lot more than you can do than the things that I have mentioned in this article. I may be well add something that I missed in this article on my preparation for an indefinite lockdown (God forbid).

Take care guys and be safe.



I am an I.T. professional (Computer Engineer) working in a private company, a blogger, a father, and a husband.


Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Thank you for this fantastic post! It has been featured in our weekly tie up post, along with a summary of all the things WE think we should do to prepare for.. indefinite lockdowns.

Please stop by and check out the list, were such a smart bunch! much love
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-5-2tie-up-post-things-we-can-do-to-prepare-for-indefinite-lockdowns

You're welcome. Have a nice day.

Prepping is a great idea, I like that you're growing food... I think that is the number one true revolution we can achieve! Keep up the good work on homesteading, you will survive!

Yep, if everyone learns to grow food in their homes then it will be of great help.