You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning Solar Energy #2 | Attempting to Understand Solar Panel Efficiency

in ecoTrain3 years ago

The solar panels that I have now are probably about 12 years old now. I've had them that long, but have only had them out of the box and in the sun for about 3 years now. They're not the high efficiency type, but they will continue to put out power at off angles and lower light situations such as a cloudy day. The panels are 15 watts each and I have 4 of them. I have them mounted in the rafters of my greenhouse, and I basically use them to keep a deep cycle battery charged. Not the most useful thing to do with solar panels, but it's better than leaving them in the box...

Sort:  

Nice info, do you think you could provide more details on your panels? Perhaps even do a post and tag me? Would be nice, thanks for sharing!

The brand of the panels is Sunforce. I bought the panels in a kit that had 4 solar panels of 15 watts each, a 7 amp charge controller, a plastic frame to fasten the panels to, and all the necessary hookup wires and stuff. The kit also came with a small power invertor to give you 110 volts from your 12 volt battery. It's a 400 watt invertor, so it's not very powerful, it won't run a coffee pot. It would probably be good enough to run a power tool battery charger or a laptop computer.
I'll see about taking a few pictures and writing up a post about it.

Thanks, that’s valuable info 🙏