You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance of Sustainable and Holistic Living.

in ecoTrain2 years ago

Love the photo of the bee! Looks like such a nice little spot.

One day I'd like to build our own house... and think about the materials all the time... concrete would be so good for the overall power consumption and heat retention... but it creates such a huge carbon debt in that initial build. Local trees is a much better idea but I'm less sure about how well they keep the heat in. Lots of research to be done.

Sort:  

I don't think there's one perfect answer regarding building materials. Each person will have to balance their own resources with what the environment has to offer. We haven't begun to build yet, but we're keeping concrete on the table as an option if the longevity / heat control seems to balance out other environmental impact. I've seen some folks build earthbag homes adding just a small amount of cement to the natural clay and soil on their property to add more durability to the structure, and that only takes a few bags of cement. Again, each person and local will be different, I'm sure. Thanks for taking the time to read and for the nice comment on the photo. I've enjoyed taking pictures as we travel. !PIZZA

Totally. I do love the concept of earthship houses but my partner doesn't love the look of them, she likes a modern look.