bigorna1 cross-posted this post in ecoTrain 9 months ago


scythe sharpening

in HiveGarden9 months ago (edited)


My son (@yolos.account ), grounding with his self-built scythe.

I am a big fan of the use of a manual scythe vs. motor ones or battery powered ones.
I find the motor ones way too noisy for my taste (what ruins the therapeutic effect this activity has on me), they consume your hard earned money for both gasoline and plastic thread. on top of that they spew gases that I can happily live without.
my father tried for a long time to sponsor a battery one for me which I rejected again and again.
they need charged batteries, the same plastic thread, and use Lithium batteries that I try to avoid as the plague.
mining of Lithium is a very destructive activity that threatens the integrity of natural and social habitats throughout Portugal. I refuse to sponsor any of that.

the use of a manual scythe is an art that was disappearing from the world I grew up into and is now making a huge comeback within alternative communities around the world.
it is an activity that keeps you very fit and does the job perfectly without any negative impacts on the environment.


sharpening of a scythe becomes like riding a bike once you get some practice.

it is imperative to watch out for your fingers as the blade become extremely sharp.
I always use gloves doing it and hold the sharpening stone in a way that keeps my fingers as far away from the blade as possible.

there is no advantage in working fast. put safety first.
I step on the handle with my foot helping the scythe to remain as stable as possible while at it.

special thanks to @anttn for being a general inspiration and inspire this specific post with his newly acquired scythe. welcome to the club 💪!

**

I am daily making the change I want to see in the world.
If you enjoyed this post please upvote and reHive.
thank you for stopping by.

#UnityTowardFreedom
#AbundanceTribe
#AmazingNature
#Homesteading
#ProofofBrain
#HiveGarden
#ecoTrain
#HiveDiy
#Palnet
#OCD

this post has been published on July 20th. 2023 at 13:13