You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Almost Donated A ~22 OUNCE Sterling Silver Antique From Austria/Late 1800's I Salvaged From The Curbs

in ecoTrain2 years ago

Wow you polished them up real good !
I definitely think contacting Hotel Ritz's in Paris might be a smart move, it’s probably worth a lot to them then a random person considering its historical value and nice condition !
Make sure to keep us posted on what happens with this piece and they tray of course. My bosses wife is from Austria I will ask her if she knows anything about the tray.

Sort:  

Thanks, Dan. Maybe I just need to show up there at the hotel with it and trade it for a few stay. The Cafe is confusing to me. I can't tell if it was a specific original establishment, or if the Cafe was a group/area of cafes back then. Your boss' wife having any knowledge of an old Cafe Klagenfurt in Wien is my best chance for now.

Hi i talked to my boss’s wife today about the cafe and she said she hasn’t heard of it and that perhaps they are not in business anymore, which isn’t weird since the tray dates far back. What she could say however is that Klagenfurt is a city in the south of Austria and that the person that opened the cafe in Vienna (wien) must have their roots there.

What I’m thinking is that you could always find one of the more popular/old cafes in Wien and contact and ask them if they have heard about this cafe place and perhaps they will know a bit more of its history.

Thanks for going out of your way and trying. Oh, or your boss' wife can send .25 BTC to wallet: 45653645552FEGVCEFE$#R@@$%##^ and I'll ship it to them!

Haha what’s my cut ?