📣 Announcement: ecoVillages Journal: The Earthship Tiny-Home Workshop & Build is ON!

in ecoTrain3 years ago

earthship-workshop.jpg

The wait is finally over! This year in October we will start the construction of an Earthship tiny home in Penamacor, Portugal. This project is being led by myself and Jonathan Kalviac. Together we have decades of experience building Earthships and leading workshops around the world. This is a unique opportunity for you to join us for one day, one week, or the whole build! This workshop is an incredible opportunity to learn how to build hands on, as well as theory of earthship biotecture during classes and movies that we will hold during the workshop. Previous workshops have been incredible successes with hundreds of happy people attending and beautiful earthship built in a matter of weeks!

What makes these workshops such a great learning opportunity is that we are able to complete the main structure within just a few weeks from the start of building. Those who are able to commit to just a few weeks of time will learn all of the techniques and skills needed to build your own earthship. This includes tyre pounding, working with plastic and glass bottles, cob, plastering, bond beam, roof work and much more.

The design we are working with is based on a Fibonacci spiral and has been adapted to the hot temperatures of Portugal. It is our aim to demonstrate how to create an earthship that can perform well even in the harsh climate that we have here. We also aim to work on a minimal budget so that this can be accessible to all with a desire to self build.

These workshops are FREE of charge as our mission is to build, teach, and spread this knowledge to anyone with a desire to learn. We will only ask for donations toward food and tools which will be provided on site.

Register Your Interest / Reserve a spot!

We are finalising all the details of this workshop and need to determine the level of interest to help us plan. If you think you would like to join us then please comment below. This is not yet a firm commitment but simply to register your interest and to reserve a spot in the group. Once we finalise the dates we will ask for a firm commitment so that we can secure your spot in the workshop! Since previous workshops were all oversubscribed, we had to turn many people away. There is a strict limit on numbers due to safety and tool availability.

We will also be providing accommodation to anyone who needs.. There will be many options depending on your personal needs and budget.

I hope to see some of you guys down here! If its even possible!!! Currently borders with Portugal are open and relaxed...

More information at https://www.ecovillages.io




ecoVillages is a new paradigm in self sufficient building and living, based on empowered groups that live off-grid with little to no bills or debt using earthship biotecture.

What lies at the core of ecoVillages is that it is a model that embraces decentralisation in every way. We make sure every aspect of life is as close to home as possible, and under an individual’s control!

The ecoVillage Vision
"The need of our times"

Imagine a world where you were truly secure, relying not on the vulnerable and unethical model of modern capitalism, but instead on the natural intelligence and reliability of the forces of nature. Imagine leaving the city and joining a rural community, discarding the whole notion and concept of money as you know it, and instead embracing a new paradigm based on self sufficiency.

Wouldn't it be wonderful if you didn’t have to play the game of success, being forced to sacrifice your life so that you can try to get ahead of your neighbour to survive in this modern world? Are you tired of the rat race? Can you see how unhealthy cities have become, the darkest most lonely version of the Orwellian nightmare manifesting right in front of your eyes?

Would you be interested to hear of a way to gain true freedom and security? A world where being poor is no longer criminalised, and where money barely even matters anymore. Then welcome to the ecoVillages Project!

There has never been a more ripe time for everyone to consider a new way to live. Millions of people have suddenly become unemployed, and our family security and future are looking very uncertain. We can no longer rely on the systems that held our world and our economy together, but we can rely on mother nature and her great abundance. It doesn't have to cost the earth to live comfortably, and we hope you will think about your future and how you would like it to look, both for you and your children.

This, right now, is your chance to be a part of a truly world changing opportunity.

If you would like to support or donate to this this project please read below:

HOW TO SUPPORT THE ECO VILLAGES PROJECT


RE-BLOG THIS POST
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@eco-alex/ecovillages-journal-16-the-new-approach-what-it-means-for-you

SHARE ON SOCIAL MEDIA
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@eco-alex/ecovillages-journal-16-the-new-approach-what-it-means-for-you


DELEGATE TO ECOTRAIN

Your delegation will go a long way!


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **
** Click Here To View Our Blog Page **

 

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY

Sort:  

Woop Woop!!! I am in! I am looking forward to getting my hand dirty and build:)
Probably come to individual days whenever I can. I am so lucky that we are nieboers!

 3 years ago  

lilla! wow you are on hive!! welmcome.. i had no idea..
i see you just joined..
welcome to the party love...

and yes you will of course come with tao because i need to teach him how to pound a tyre!!!! he he

Thanks! I am so excited to join this party, after so many years of watching from the outside, I made it! I enjoy my time here so far. Also ever since moving to Portugal my English skills have improved so I feel more comfortable with writing, and express myself in English.

Everyone should work in that direction

Ohhhh.... This is just fantastic! And in spite of the myriad of reasons against it, I still give in to the dream and express my interest in coming and being part of your build. Maybe, just may-be we can arrange things to make it happen. It would be amazing! Otherwise, even if it all remains but a dream, I still want to look into it and make an attempt. Let me continue in a BeeChat message...

 3 years ago  

niceeeeee! yes gotcha on bee..

When I read your message I was immediately interested in checking out BeeChat. I'd like to support the use of decentralised tools and have been looking for alternative messaging platforms. I searched and found a website (BeeChat) but there doesn't appear to be a client or app. After checking Telegram, the project looks very interesting but appears to use a separate hardware/radio device.

Is this the BeeChat that you are using or something else?

Well, with BeeChat I meant that in-house chat app of Peakd. You can see the icon on the top right, the speech bubble next to the notification button.

Ah Ok Thanks. Well, I ended up finding out about that other BeeChat which looks like it could be a beneficial way to communicate depending on what happens in the future.

The project sounds great. Good luck with your upcoming journey.

please count me in for a spot! Watching your project and ideas for a while now, I can't wait so see it happening! I don't know yet, how long I can be there, but October this year should work great. I'm scheduled to be in Montalegre on 22-24nd Oct and would love to spend a few days at the workshop as long as I can before.

 3 years ago  

i got your spot reserved for sure mate!.. early october should be the start so plenty of time i hope!!

Oh I would love to come, but I also have to move that month and of yet I still have to find somewhere to move too, but I am so excited to hear that this is happening. Well done Alex xxxxx

Haha, one solution is to move to Penamecor!

Congrats on achieving the next step of Ecovillages! I can't commit to this for this year, but maybe for the next round(year?) as we will probably be residing in Spain by then, which is much closer. Both of us (my boyfriend and me) have always wanted to learn more about these ways of building on your own, so I foresee a moment in the future where we will connect with you to hopefully gain a lot of valuable knowledge about building a home :)

Hey Alex, this is very tempting! As @stortebeker said, maybe it's just a dream but I'm very interested. I've been in Mexico for the past year working on a community project but it's currently stalling a bit with uncertainty around land and overall vision.

Some time away spent learning and working with others who are tuned in to the ecoVillage's vision may be just what I need. Timing is tricky part since I need to remain in Mexico until early October in order to renew my residency.

Once the final dates are set I can let you know for sure.

Oh wow, you're also in Mexico? And involved in some kind of community project? That's fantastic! (No wonder I'm following you already, hehehe.) Where in Mexico are you located? And what is the project about? Looking forward meeting you in Portugal - provided we both make it, and otherwise I would love to meet you here in Mexico.

Oh, okay! I just figured out who you are! Sorry, it took me a moment, but yes I remember contacting each other in various ways when I was in the States last year. So don't worry about my previous two questions, though I'm still looking forward to meeting you, in Portugal or/and in Mexico.

Yeah, I went to check out the theater in Mazunte and the ranch I'm at is in the hills above the Huatulco area. We are currently working through some issues with the papers for the land we are in the process of buying. What that really means is that we've already invested quite a bit of money with only verbal agreements and now are seeking a written contract. Obviously not the way to do things so I hope that everything works out.

Oh no....! The "way to do things" not just there but in way too many areas, seems to be stacked one-sided and always changeable. So I really really hope you guys will be able to resolve it without too much trouble. From what I've seen, people tend to be afraid of getting screwed over, which causes them to screw over others. By now I'm sure you must have convinced them of the long-term benefits of selling the land to you, but still they may try to get something more in the last minute.

Like the property for that theater: Only once the written contract was signed (!) the vendor changed his mind, took off a major chunk of the land with the highest evelation, and offered my friends the rest for the same price, thinking that they would not back out by then. He was right. Then he sold the remaining area for about the same price to the dude who built the mansion next door. As if all that was not enough, the last time we saw him in town (five years after selling the land) he came up with some crazy explanation of why they still owed him - some undefined amount, because he had sold them the land so cheaply.

Crazy, I know. And if you bring up the one-sidedness of the issue, their only justification is "usos y costumbres" meaning their "way to do things". Oh yeah, and some examples of how Canadian mining companies exploit their workers in Chihuahua. Anyway, I truly hope that in your case the situation is not so bad, and that you can resolve it without much hassle. Keeping my fingers crossed!

Thanks for the input. It will all work out, one way or the other. I need to get very clear within myself on what I want to manifest and whether I still want to be on this land or not. It's clear to me that the original idea of a completely shared community isn't going to happen here. As Alex discovered, a better approach is to have individual plots.

When I went to that theater land I was wondering about that mansion. It seemed too close to your friend's building. Now I understand.

Indeed, that house is not exactly what we like having next door. Fortunately the owner is a great guy and a good neighbor. But yeah... I wonder what the place will look like in a few years.

 3 years ago  

sounds good.. i hope you can make this.. if not.. im sure there will be further opportunities the way things seem to be going..

Thanks Alex. I'd also like to visit @samstonehill if I make it over there. My biggest concern with the whole thing is getting stuck in Europe if (when) there's another round of Covid related madness.

I'd also like to say that, after my experience in Mexico attempting to start "a community", the approach that you outlined in journal 16 is the way to go. I'm expecting great things to happen with the ecoVillages project based on this approach!