Being a Permaculture practitioner - Making a 'house call'

in ecoTrain2 years ago

Hello friends, family and followers! January is sure going fast, can you believe that already 6% of 2022 has came and went?

I have been practicing permaculture for at least 9 years now, and 9 years at least since I went to get my PDC in Costa Rica. Its eight years on the farm and the good stuff really only starts when I get on the blockchain.

But recently, people have been asking me for my advice. Hey, what native trees should I not cut down when I am preparing my fields for shade grown coffee?

But to give advice effectively, you have to go.

IMG_20220120_121316707_HDR.jpg

This friend had visited our farm several times, getting ideas for his project. He is working on his grandfathers farm, which had been abandoned for almost 20 years. Of course this is peppered with family history, and I enjoy listening to the history of the region as well.

IMG_20220120_162017652.jpg

Here is his son, teething on a 'hueso de cola', which is the bone of cow tail that has given the flavor to our delicious sancocho lunch.

This family of 5 moved to this farm when the pandemic started, and over the last two years, have determined that this is the life that they want their children to grow up in.

The question is, how to build a viable life in el campo?

IMG_20220120_133407188.jpg

So thats one of the things I have been discussing with my friend. I told him I would try to tell him everything I've learned in the last 8 years so he can start learning things to teach me.

My theory is that we need one million campesinos experimenting. But they all need to know some basics in order to have the chance at a possible valid experiment.

First of all, this farm is far away. Like, I suffered to get there. We did get lost only once, and lets just say I am so happy that our Nissan Patrol is such a beast. By the end of the 1 hour drive we have gone from pavement to dirt path with all the forms of gravel road in between.

Then we park the car and walk 25 minutes.

IMG_20220120_133358397_HDR.jpg

It really is glorious, and my suffering ends as soon as we park the car. This is a different lifestyle, still some old school generation but occupied more and more by a new generation of scrappers and entrepreneurs, looking for a new model and smart enough to see where the old models are broken.

The old models lead to 30 year emptying of these places.

But the reversazo has begun.

IMG_20220120_165045309_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

My wife is a great team mate. She actually grew up nearby, and recognized the school house when we passed it. She used to make paths through these mountains to walk to school with her siblings and cousins.

I mostly spent my time talking with 'the guys', my friend and his brother. I tried to listen more than talk, and make sure I supplied the most essential knowledge for their current situation. I wasn't exactly sure what that would be until I saw what they had done and were doing.

IMG_20220120_162619407_HDR.jpg

They already mixing systems, and grow food way better than I do. In fact, I did indeed learn a few things by visiting him!

But they didnt ask me to come talk about food. They wanted to know about native trees, something I am happy to say that my time studying has paid dividends on.

I will summarize my points here:

Trees are good

This is so basic as to be obvious, but trees have beneficially effects - they play an important role in many dimensions.

People tend to plant high value trees like lumber, but they are also starting to recognize the importance of secondary trees, I usually refer to them as native trees (arboles nativos).

Coffee growers are seeing the writing on the wall and are being encouraged to have at least 12 species of plants associated with their coffee. This is easy to do if you include these natives.

Manage native trees with two techniques: Pruning and Coppicing

Here in Colombia, native trees 'reforest' themselves quickly, and after a few years, once productive farms are 'monte', basically fledgling forests.

Forests naturally go through succession as higher value trees come up through the understory and verticality increases during this process as each generation penetrates through and wins over a previous.

IMG_20220120_132330588_HDR.jpg

When cleaning land for agriculture, we can preserve the verticality and let on more light by debranching, pruning the tree but leaving it at the same height.

For low value shrubs and scrub, we can coppice, which means to cut off the top. I generally do this just above my head, so that the sprouts go up above me and other human's head space.

These two techniques allow us to keep more trees and let in more light to our agriculture spaces.

A whole different article can and probably should be written about all the good things these additional trees are doing. From regulating soil humidity, temperature regulation, processing biomass, to oxygenating the soil, to allowing birds to come in and add their beneficial effects. And more!

I also was able to give one other piece of advice about coffee. This is also about the global fertilizer crisis.

But I think I will have to save it for another article. I'm out of pictures! @ecoinstante took a million, maybe she will share :)

Freedom and Friendship

Sort:  

Looks amazing. Cool you are helping.

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

Lovely pictures of trees

I'm hoping my wife got some action shots 😅

Quite an adventure it must be at the farm. Such life seem cool as one gets close to nature. Beautiful photography. Great you learnt something and willing to teach your new friend

This is so cool; what an amazing experience to be working and teaching (and learning) from the local people there. We read so much about the deforestation caused by new farmers around the world. And here you are teaching and learning best practices from each other. This is truly great stuff!

Thanks for sharing this terrific post! You are doing fantastic work!

Cheers!

Yes, change is coming and all we have to do is guide it forward! Thanks for taking the time to appreciate it!

Awesome place. The land is so sloping that I wonder how hard it is to cultivate under those conditions.

They do it, and you learn a lot about 'ins and out' or 'vagones y barrigas', because each one cultivates differently.

One overall consequence is soil acidification from rain runoff, I am using contour-building to correct over time, but the trees do this naturally on slopes in what is called 'fish scaling'.

Got it. One issue we have in Brazil, on land like that, is that people remove the native trees and well... we know the result, landslides. Luckly we only have a tiny part of our land kinda sloping, where we have rain runoff.

 2 years ago  

Really good to see what's happening, and the beautiful places that you are at.. wow it looks SO green, such a nice spot you chose! I hope you keep sharing now im living in an apartment can you believe it! .. so its nice to keep my pulse on the off grid life! x

Wow I can hardly believe it! I will do more offgrid posts this year, lots of development in our local area!

Yes, I do loving permaculture

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 89 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@dkid14(3/5) tipped @ecoinstant (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

You best be very careful!!!!!!!!!!