ecoTrain Cooking On A Budget Competition Week 2 Awards! Noodles & Pasta

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

budgetcooking2ajpg.jpg

What a week its been, so good to see SO many noodle and pasta dishes frequent the #cookingonabudget tag! Thank you to everyone who took part! I think its fair to say that most of us LOVE noodles and especially ramen!!! I must admit i think im full up just looking at all those ramen dishes.. no doubt the easiest and cheapest dish to make and one that we can all eat quite happily. A big shout out to those of you who stepped up to the challenge of making your own noodles, that made the judging that bit easier! So there has to be 5 winners, or maybe 6 as i seem to keep doing a bonus winner. This week is no different as it was simply too hard to separate a few of the entries.


So without further ado lets get to the winners!!! Six of you below have all been awarded $10 HBD which is now in your wallet and ready to do with as you please! Congratulations to:


The first winner is @lenasveganliving, with a stunning dish that ticks all the boxes for a complete dish that is not only tasty but also very healthy! Lena made a ROSE FARFALLE with spelt flour rather than wheat. She also created a delicious looking cashew cream vegan sauce that is one to try for sure!

I am also using SPELT FARFALLE which is little bit more expansive than regular pasta. However, whole grain spelt is highly nutritious and much healthier than white wheat. Although, even if you use whole grain wheat, or brown rice pasta, it is already healthier than white pasta, yet less expensive than spelt.

Also, today supermarkets and markets online, such as Amazon, offers wide variety of pasta and noodles made of healthy ingredients. And don't worry, they taste delicious, at least to me, even better than plain old pasta that is nothing but empty calories.

VIEW POST

@amy-goodrich made a beautiful looking LENTIL PASTA AVACADO PESTO WITH PAN-ROASTED VEGGIES!

Ciao amici miei! Today I take you on a journey to Italy with my 100% plant-powered, gluten-free take on an Italian classic - Pasta Pesto.

One of my good friends here in Cambodia is Italian and has a restaurant. Unfortunately, there aren’t many dishes on his menu I can eat, so I usually go there for a glass of Italian wine and a chat. In my humble opinion, Italy does produce the best wines… think Brunello, Barolo, Chianti… though I don’t drink alcohol very often, I can appreciate a good glass of red wine once in a while. Too bad I can’t enjoy it with his food.

Nearly all his dishes contain cheese, eggs, or other animal products. But that doesn’t mean his cooking can’t be an inspiration to my dishes.

I love Italian cuisine for its simplicity and honor to the taste of real, fresh ingredients without the use of many seasonings. PLUS, pasta dishes make easy, fast weeknight dinners on a budget.

VIEW POST

@carolynstahl made a Spinach rice noodle vegetable stir fry

This is my first time participating in ecoTrain where this week we have noodles as the topic.
I couldn't resist as I happened to be making rice noodles with some items I had in the fridge and some veggies I purchased from the markdown bin. I have a store across the street with high priced items. It's downtown and convenient so they put the prices as high as they can. Fortunately for me, many items are marked down each day, and it's mostly produce that is in very decent shape.

Other items I usually purchase down the street at a store that is packed full of people who want to get the least expensive items. I go there particularly for organic tofu, tempeh and fresh produce. They have the best prices in town.

I bought spinach rice noodles from there the other day. I will admit they don't taste much like spinach but they have a greenish hue.

When I cook rice noodles this thin I just soak them in cold water while I prepare the rest of the ingredients.

VIEW POST

Congratulations to @hindavi for making your own Indian brown rice nnoodles!

Hello ecotrain community 🙏 ! hope all you are doing well. Wishing you very happy holidays. since few days thinking about noodles. It was quite confusing about is it Italian pasta or Asian noodles? Many of this contests' entries are done with instant noodles but here i present an authentic preparation from scratch.

VIEW POST

@anfood created a very asian looking Fried Fish & Rice Noodles & Vegetables Soup

If you are tired of meat and want to eat light food, I recommend you to try this dish, its broth is a bit sweet and slightly sour that makes you want to eat it non-stop. We always eat raw vegetables with fried fish noodles so this dish is not only delicious but also good for health. The broth for fish noodle is made from simmering fish bones or fish heads. After the simmering stage, tomatoes are added to make color and sweetness to the dish.

Fish noodles are sold everywhere in northern Vietnam, from luxury restaurants to small eateries or sidewalks. The type of fish often used to make this dish is tilapia because they are naturally sweet and have little bones, suitable for both children and the elderly. We usually eat fish rice noodles for breakfast or lunch, sometimes we also eat it for dinner. This dish is the perfect substitute for meat and rice. This dish has many different versions, some places use mackerel or snakehead fish, use vegetable water dropwort, banana flower or colocasia gigantea. This is my own recipe, you can cook it my way!! Just a tablespoon of fish noodles can warm our body in cold winter.

VIEW POST

AND FINALLY OUR BONUS PRIZE GOES TO

@ngoan8x for their amazing Beef Pho (Noodle) Soup

For a very long time, Pho has been a special dish of Hanoians. You can eat pho at any time of the day, restaurants or small eateries often sell pho from early morning to late night. Pho like rice noodles is made of rice flour but coated in thin sheets and then cut into fibers. The most important part in pho is broth. Beef broth is made the tradition old way, slowly beef bone simmered with onion and ginger and other ingredients such as cinnamon, anise, .. created a delicious broth mixture. The broth is poured over pho and served immediately with lettuce, green onion leaves or banana flowers.

VIEW POST


THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO TOOK PART! WATCH OUR FOR WEEK 3 OF THE COOKING ON A BUDGET COMPETITION COMING VERY SOON!



 



CHECK OUT PREVIOUS WEEKS AWARDS

WEEK 1:MAKING POTATOES SHINE

The first week of the ecoTrain cooking on a budget competition is over and today I'm glad to announce the five talented winners! If you didn't see the launch post then the theme this week was to use potatoes as the main ingredient of a dish that you will make. It was great to see so many very varied dishes all photographed and explained so well. I am Inspired and enthused to try some of these dishes out, and since they are all based on such basic ingredients it shouldn't be too hard to do so! So thank you to everyone who took part, I hope you had a lot of fun making these dishes!

READ POST

THE HEALTHIEST DISH!

READ POST

Week 3 AWARDS! 🎁$250 AWARED TO 10 TALENTED WINNERS ;)

READ POST

Week 2 Awards : $250 in Prizes to 9 Winners!

READ POST

Launch!🎁 $250 in Prizes! WEEK 1

READ POST

 

 


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY


Sort:  

Wow 😍 so nice! there is very fantastic recipes . I am very glad i was chosen among the winners.
Thank you dear ecotrain. Congratulations to all winners 🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹 Wishing very happy happy holidays to ecotrain community.🌞❄️

Congratulations to all the winners! Those are so wonderful dishes. Few of them I will definitely try tis vacation. Wish A happy christmas to all!

Thanks for everything, I'm really surprised
And congrats to the winners!!

Thank you so much Alex! I am truly honored! Congratulations to all the winners! Big applause to @carolynstahl & @amy-goodrich my dear vegan friends. They always impressed me with their creations 💚😋💚

Thank you very much for including me. I'm thrilled. There were many wonderful recipes. Congratulations to @lenasveganliving who has the most perfect dishes always. Congratulations also to @plantstoplanks and the rest of the winners.

Congratulations @lenasveganliving @amy-goodrich and others, more wins

Thank you so much for including my pasta dish Alex! And congrats to all other winners. Definitely gonna try some of these easy and quick weeknight dinners!

Congratulations to all the winners