You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Garden Squash, Three Meals! {ecoTrain Simple Vegan Cooking on a Budget Month}

in ecoTrain4 years ago

I have been heading here for days...and only just got here... I love those versatile snack/breakfast jars...And this summer, I want to encourage at least one of our self-sown/from compost butternut plants....

My first ever dinner cooked for a friend in my first ever home was a roasted whole (small) pumpkin, in which, I think, I did a stew... That would have been 1986!

Sort:  

After dropping this on Friday afternoon, I mostly cut and ran from the internet myself!

Oh I hope you can get a volunteer that is as productive as this one has been! I think we've pulled off 9 so far, but a 10th should be ready in the next few days. Hoping our heirloom pumpkin seeds will take, as well. I saved some from the beautiful sage green pumpkins from the market last year. They would make a lovely soup tureen!

beautiful sage green pumpkins from the market last year. They would make a lovely soup tureen!

They would indeed!

And when I hit reply, I remembered that I wanted to mention that millet and sorghum are indigenous to Africa and were the staple foods here before maize arrived from the Americas. I need to look into using them at some stage. Properly. Which reminds me I promised @lizelle as samp and beans dish....I am so behind...

Millet I haven't quite jumped on as much just yet, but really enjoy sorghum. It's got a great texture. Though I really love all the ancient grains--kamut and farro are probably two of my faves. Which reminds me I haven't gotten kamut in quite a while...