Recycling an old onion? Let's give it a try.

in ecoTrain2 years ago

My friend was going to throw away this onion because it had started sprouting. I said let me have it! I am embarking on a journey this year to grow as much of my own food as possible. I will try to use only organic practices that involve recycling.
Uploading IMG_20220219_110659_HDR.jpg #52
The onion is a great start. The weather is still cold, but not too cold. I have some green scallions in a raised bed that are doing well, so I think the onion will also.
Uploading IMG_20220219_110639_HDR.jpg #93
First I cut away all of the onion that is edible. It's quite a lot of onion. I cried because this is a yellow onion and it is rather pungent. I also saved the brown skin to add to my compost pile.
img_20220219_110103_hdr.jpg
I split the onion into five small bulbs and made sure to keep some of the root on each bulb. I will update in a few days to let you know if this experiment worked.
img_20220219_105702_hdr.jpg
I planted the onions outdoors in my raised beds. It was easy, I dug a hole and planted the onions past the start of the green.
Uploading IMG_20220219_105119_HDR.jpg #77
While the weather is improving, the top soil was rather hard. There were ice crystals, but the dirt could be worked so I think the onions will do well.
If you are interested in seeing some of my other posts, I show how to start seeds in egg cartons.
https://ecency.com/hive-140635/@growingmyownfood/starting-tomatoes-cucumbers-and-peppers

Sort:  

Neat idea. I hope the onions grow. Looking forward to an update.

Will be following to see how they grow, I got some garlic like this from the store gonna see how it goes