You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 More Items Salvaged From Curbside Waste Sold For $999 - 53 Pounds Saved

in ecoTrain2 years ago

That’s totally awesome that you actually turned junk into ready cash, WoW 😮
The ice bucket, though, would’ve been hard for me to let go of, you did a really good job on it.
I think that your sentiments are very worthy of respect because if more people had your mindset there’d be a lot less junk in the world. Kudos to you🤗💕❤️

img_5041.png

Sort:  

Glad you liked it. I have a few more ice buckets, including another I shined for the buyer just recently. Sadly, shipping may be too expensive to the Southern Hemisphere...

My favorite ice bucket is by Christofle. It was verified by its stamped serial number by the company as being from 1898 for the Hotel Ritz's grand opening in Paris. It's in great shape and has Grand Marnier etched on its side. It's sort of priceless to me, but I'm going to eventually contact the hotel to see if they'd ever want it back. I found a whole batch at the same time from a collector who may have passed away. With it was also a sterling silver serving tray from a cafe in Austria from the 1860-1880 era that's quite heavy. I believe the silver value alone was about $400+ before even considering the heritage and stamping.

I also have lots of other sterling silver and silver plate items like these from over the years, and .925/gold jewelry of course. I've found some nice pure silver intricately decorated Tibetan offering bowls too. I've posted on these and others in the past, but feel free to stay tuned for more.