ecoTrain Cooking on a Budget Competition: My Asian - Italian - Mexican fusion pasta

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

When I saw this cooking competition, I knew I had to write a post about this dish that I've come up with some time ago.
It's lovely, fast to make, and fits in a low budget.
There are different variants in which you could make this, so I will start out with the one I made this time, but I'll add the recipe for the original when I came up with it first.
Both are great, and the recipe can be tweaked to your liking!

imageedit_1_2040358701.jpg

I didn't read the part where we had to put a note with our dish, so I hope you can forgive me that I didn't (I put my name with it later), and that you can see that these are all my photos and not just some random ones.

My coconut chili noodles - The recipe

This is the first time I've tweaked the recipe into this dish. It didn't disappoint!
Here's the recipe:

Tagliatelle or Linguine pasta (I prefer Tagliatelle because it cooks fast) for approximately 4 people.

Vegetable stock (one cube)

Garlic to taste (I love LOTS of it)

Coconut milk from a tin or coconut milk from a carton with coconut cream (of course, if you have fresh coconut at hand, please feel free to use that!)

Habanero sauce

Fresh coriander

Tomatoes for decoration

salt and pepper to taste

A quarter of a lime

IMG_20211216_225703.jpg

Preparation

Boil the tagliatelle shortly in a little bit of water.
When it's tender but not too soft, remove all water.

IMG_20211217_214823.jpg

Add the vegetable stock (I used a cube in this case, so I had to crumble the stock cube)
At this point I added the garlic but usually I wait till the end, so it stays as fresh as possible.

IMG_20211217_220331.jpg

And lastly, add the coconut milk/cream.
Turn the cooker back on low, and stir a few times so the coconut milk is covering your dish evenly.
Turn the cooker off.

All in all this was a 10 minute job!

IMG_20211217_222004.jpg
***this is the habanero sauce I used, but you can use any kind of hot, or not so hot sauce.

Put the pasta on plates, decorate with tomatoes and sprinkle some of the hot sauce over it, finish with fresh coriander.

Et Voila!!! Here's the result!

IMG_20211217_221619.jpg

And this was my plate, just because I absolutely LOVE coriander... 😄

IMG_20211217_222114.jpg

I usually sprinkle some pine nuts or sun flower seeds on top. Which gives it a really nice twist.

Preparation and cooking time from start to finish:
10 - 15 minutes.
It's the easiest dish I've ever made, and the kids all love it.

My original recipe

I promised to write down my original recipe as well.
It's something I just came up with one day and it's always been a success. Handy if you have unexpected visitors and you still want to present them with something nice and tasty.

In the original recipe I made the pasta the same way, but added rocket leaves and basil leaves instead of the coriander (sometimes I used coriander instead of basil, both are great). The basil gives it the nice Italian twist.
Then I'd sprinkle sweet chili sauce on top. Yummmm. The Asian twist!
And usually, I'd also sprinkle lightly baked sunflower seeds or pine nuts on top.
I think either recipe is awesome. Let me know if you try it!

All photos are my own

bye text.png

imageedit_0_8411722046.png


As an affiliate with ledger, I receive a percentage of the sales generated through this link


Sort:  

I did not realize you were still here and you even kept your Hive powered up :)

 2 years ago  

Yes I am still here :) And yes, I didn't touch my Hive power.
I've been a little less active this past year or so but my plan is to get back and post more.
I've missed it, and to be honest, I'd rather be here than my job haha.
How are you?
Still in Germany? We're in Mexico now. Been here 4 weeks now.

I'm good, thanks.

Still in Germany.
If it wasn't for coov restrictions, I'd be travelling, though.

I just set up my witness again.
If you got a vote to spare, that would be great.
No pressure, lol.

Good to still have you here,
looking forward to you posting more.
(I usually don't vote for qotw, tho)

 2 years ago  

Yeah, the cv restrictions was one of the things that made us leave. We were lucky to get out just before they imposed more.
I have to go through my witness list anyway. It's been a while. So yeah, of course :)

I've got lots of material in my head. And I invested in a GoPro and a drone, so once I know all the ins and outs of those things 😆, I'll be posting videos as well. Great to see you around as well!

Thanks for reminding me to enter this contest lol.
My budget pasta is the only one my little lady eats, might as well enter the contest :)

 2 years ago  

Yes!!! Anything the little ones eat, is a good thing to share with others. There are many times when I'm totally out of inspiration. It'd be nice to just check in here to get some ideas.

Yes, agree! I personally don't like any other spaghetti other than my own pasta carbonara lol, even if I eat in a restaurant I feel less satisfied than when I had my own simple budget variant of it.

The only thing I did change during last lockdown when I started buying more coconut products, is replace the cream with coconut cream which made it a little more expensive, but also healthier I guess :) lol

 2 years ago  

Mmmm YUM great ingredients.. i also LOVe coriander, and addition of coconut milk im sure takes this dish up a few notches in creamy goodness.. lovely to see you join us! xx

 2 years ago  

Thank you @eco-alex! Yes, this dish is just so simple, and easy. And in our house, there's never anything left. So that should tell you enough. There's endless varieties possible too, so that makes it even better.

Lovely recipe, beautiful dish. Looking at the recipe I can see this is a light fresh-tasting meal.
You are inspiring me to get back in the kitchen and blog about it do you mind if I follow your lead?

!ctp

 2 years ago  

great title on listnerds.. ive been here before, but had to return to check the dish again :)

I am definitely trying this recipe as soon as I get all the ingredients together. Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago  

Ohhh, let me know how it turned out!
And if you gave your own swing to it.
It's sooo easy and quick to make.
I hope you enjoy it!