Off to the Ranch #8: Computer died | The Mother Bunker of a Chicken Coop is finished!

in ecoTrain2 years ago

Heeeyho Readers! More updates from our little ranch!


Have you tried turning it off and back on?

I have. Time after time and again. My trusty 15-year-old laptop has gone everywhere and halfway around the world without issues. It's been serving me on this wild journey of internet stuff since the beginning. But a couple of days ago, I thought it gave up; it wouldn't access websites, etc. I was locked in this weird thing called the real world. The colors there are brighter, and we certainly have more time to rest. However, a man has got to work and so, after some cleaning, organizing, and a few Youtube tutorials the beast was off the life support. Now back to work.

In the last update of the Mother Bunker of a Chicken Coop we fenced the dog's area. Our chicken coop has been working wonders ever since {woooho}. Let's see the final touches and the inside, where the poultry will stay.

thumb8.jpg

Finished result


After fencing the front portion, the last step was to fence the poultry area, build a door, and the perch. We've decided to use the same wire fence instead of closing the wall with wooden planks. This way, the chicken coop won't boil the chickens during the hellish Brazilian summer, and if temperatures are too harsh during the winter we can always cover that space.

IMG-20211127-WA0007.jpg

Before

IMG-20211129-WA0012.jpg

After


Picture on the left shows where we were left in the last post. Since then, we built the doors for the chicken coop itself and the dog's kennel. There's no footage of this step, but there's no secret either; they are just doors anyway. The inside is the cool part though.

IMG-20211127-WA0006.jpg

perch hinge

IMG-20211127-WA0008.jpg

raised perch


Our ranch is provided with plenty of bamboo, which is just perfect to create a perch. Dad used wire to frame the structure and a thicker metal rod to create a hinge, so we can raise the perch to sweep the floor underneath. I found awesome his solution. Now it's just a matter of spreading sawdust on the floor and release the gang.

IMG-20211127-WA0011.jpg

Sawdust

IMG-20211127-WA0012.jpg

Tadaaaam


Isn't it perfect? We have access to free sawdust, which will be perfect to collect the poop bombs. When there's enough material on the floor, we can sweep the mess away and deposit into the composter. Easy peasy.

Below is how it looks like after two weeks, when I first cleaned up the house. After this time, it began to smell a bit but wasn't a problem and in a few minutes I cleared that out. {No, I don't like when the animal's area begin to smell}.

20211218_151039.jpg

Chicken coop after two weeks


I plan to post about the full cycle (from poop to cleaning to compost) in a future post. I believe the way to a sustainable life on earth is paved by a full-cycle life of things, including electronics, cars, and so on. If we cannot send materials back to the earth in a non-aggressive manner, we cannot say we are technologically advanced.

And so, after so many weeks, issues, and time spent waiting for materials, I can say the Mother Bunker of a Chicken Coop is finished. More than anything, I'd like to thank all those who commented and supported this project. Thank you!

The Off to the Ranch series is far from over though. In the next posts, you can expect more of our ever-evolving little ranch. If you are interested in this kind of content, don't forget to drop a comment so we can interact.

If you have any questions regarding our chicken coop project, drop me a message and I'll be more than glad to elucidate and provide details.

See you next time (if my computer doesn't die again).

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

Sort:  

The gang has a nice new home and I hope you will get yourself a nice new laptop! :D Put this TipU vote in the piggy bank.

@tipu curate

Yoooo! I know you are absolutely right, but after running out of money 3x and having 2 laptops burn, I'm kinda afraid to spend money on these things. It's like we end up without money and laptop after all \o\

Let's see, I'll keep on working and perhaps Hive will surprise us all. Thanks for the push!

I"m so pleased you have the ranch to put your energies into - do you think the pandemic pushed you in that direction?

That chicken coop is the cleanest I've ever seen.

15 years with the same laptop? Wow! Do you feed the little mice inside that run it?

untitled.gif

Yey! That's a good question about the pandemic. I guess the corona thing helped speeding up the proccess; dad wanted to move closer to us as well, so we pushed the idea forward. What I now for sure is that the pandemic inspired me to get the hell away from the city.

Do you feed the little mice inside that run it?

\o\o\o\o\ I'm afraid if I open it there'll be indeed nasty things in there. I can't believe it's still working.

15-year-old laptop

I am surprised it lasted this long 🤣 Consider yourself lucky!

By the way, the chicken coop is incredible!

Did you see my laptop when I visited you? I can't believe I carried this brick all over Europe. I believe these old Dell laptops were made to last; I had one, a good one, that burned within 3-4 years. But this one... this one refuses to go.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.