Off to the Ranch #9: Bombs away | Compost | Earthworm

in ecoTrain2 years ago

Heeeyho Readers! More updates from our little ranch!


The chickenian army has dropped the bombs!

Never in my life have I imagined dealing with poop is so fun and rewarding. But wait! Let me explain and start this post with an excerpt from the Off to the Ranch #8

"I plan to post about the full cycle (from poop to cleaning to compost) in a future post. I believe the way to a sustainable life on earth is paved by a full-cycle life of things, including electronics, cars, and so on. If we cannot send materials back to the earth in a non-aggressive manner, we cannot say we are technologically advanced."

The chickenian army is growing fast and our mother bunker of a chicken coop is serving the gang incredibly well. We haven't changed anything to the project. Yet! At least until we need to add the nests — or whatever name people call the place where the chickens lay eggs. All good in this regard.

On the other end, there's the compost. The cycle aforementioned consists of collecting sawdust (with poop) from inside the chicken coop to dump in the composter where it'll later become soil. I know nothing of composts other than trial and error. The first load (unpooped) turned into a great, dark, rich soil that we used to fertilize the fruit trees. See below.

20211204_092534.jpg

First load of compost


For the second try I decided to start adding sawdust with chicken poop. It takes about fifteen days to have enough material inside the chicken coop. Also, the sawdust has got to be the best bedding; it absorbs waste moisture incredibly well.

The bomb has been planted

20211218_151039.jpg

Fifteen days of bombing


Having a concrete floor makes life easier when cleaning the mess. A good sweep and a few shovel ninja moves do the trick in minutes. Then, I quickly wash the floor before adding new sawdust.

20211218_152426.jpg

Sawdust with chicken waste


Alright, so here's the issue. This is the first time sawdust is added to the compost. After fifteen days I noticed the soil looked kinda dry, so I decided to inspect.

20220108_090745.jpg

It looked like this

20220108_092034.jpg

After turning


It doesn't look as dark as in the first load from months ago. I found that sawdust takes forever to decompose too. It began to look better after mixing up more, but I sure won't add any more sawdust in there.

Despite the mistake, I felt glad when earthworms appeared at the bottom. Huge, juicy, frenetic, sexy little earthworms. It's so rewarding to see nature doing nature things.

20220108_091736.jpg

Cute little weird

Now I'm sitting with another truck-load poopery wheelbarrow not knowing what to do with its contents. I can't add even more sawdust to the compost. And I don't want to get rid of fifteen days worth of poop. To the planning board. I found a nice sieve in the garage. Aha!

20220108_095734.jpg

messed up poop

20220108_100117.jpg

pure poop


It took less than ten minutes to separate the sawdust from the chicken poop. The wheelbarrow load of poopery material became pure poop-o-rama. To the compost we go!

20220108_101306.jpg

Almost full (no sawdust)


In a week or so I'll turn the compost again to see what the heck happenned. Hopefully, in a month or two all the material will be pure soil. If this trial works, the next step is to build a compost box out of pallets. Let's see how it goes.

If you have any tips, please, drop in the comment section down below.

Until the next post.

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

Sort:  

This must be the most enthusiastic post about excrement I have ever read :D Love the concept of not even a single poop being wasted :) Good job guys!

Ahahhahaa true, and now I go every day to the chicken poop to see if the coop is full so I can collect more. Today we are digging holes so we can fence the area where the fruit trees are; that way the dogs will have a lot of space without us worrying about the neighbors.

Wooooow am short of words... Good! Good!! Good!!!. There is a possibility of recycling this to create new things that's benefiting to man kind. I call This "Organic Innovation"!!!.
Hope to try this method someday

Yeeeees! Do try it. I'm just now learning about the subject, but am enjoying the process. I've always thought thing should have a full-life cycle. Let's see if I can finally achieve that goal.

thanks for stopping by!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.