Tips for A Fruitful and Successful Gardening

in ecoTrain3 years ago (edited)

I had been away for a while in writing stories and blogs. I was too busy for almost three months because of the wedding here. Time was not enough and didn't know anything except for my singing and post it in dapplr. It is the way how I posted and being active every day in the hive.

By the way, it was all over and it's time to give support to the @ecotrain question of the week again.

inbound3818512182172629750.jpg
credit to @ecotrain

Successful gardening in the desert land

I and my employer's family transferred to this big house 12 or 13 years ago.

I requested my boss to give me a vacant space me too. plant flowers and vegetables. Then they stopped the laborers who put the tiles on the ground.

I planted many kinds of flowers and plants but dried up during sandstorm season. The dust is hot, touched the leaves of the plants. Yearly, it happened once and then planted again during spring and summer seasons.

Last September, my boss removed all the old soil and bought a new one. When it filled, my heartfelt extraordinary happiness. I knew I could have good plants later.

inbound7756949036739702237.jpg
The kind of soil is like granules of white refined sugar.

First step:
I sow the seeds of tomatoes and hot chili.

inbound590480739845635222.jpg
These were the seedlings and I transferred them to different places and distances.

inbound7970544098877700783.jpg
I removed the seedling with soil and form a ball so the root is still intact.

inbound6254991841097633061.jpg
This is how it looks after few days from the time I transferred it.

I watered the tomato plant every day and visit them. I even talked to them. I remember my grandmother that she reminded me of loving whatever I do. She said that even plants we need to talk to them for better growth and harvest.

inbound7910922374228690916.jpg
Look at me with my shadow when I visit my plants every morning ang night.

My boss bought for me all tools for cleaning Asa ng planting.

inbound6192184526623220432.jpg
The leaves of the tomatoes are so healthy.

I have fertilizer for the plant that I dissolved with water, then drop it near the plant. Note: Do not put it closer to the trunk itself.

inbound690864067271270877.jpg
*When I saw the first flower of the tomato, I felt extra happiness. I remember someone told me that I need to water the plant because they also have life who feel the thirst. Just like me, I am also thirsty for love and care, haha(joke)

inbound8397562587856943109.jpg

Because of my happiness, I took a picture from all angles.

inbound2745330635200086420.jpg
*It grew so healthy and I have already in my mind that I need to put support so I could tie the branches before it cuts itself.

inbound495011973513936868.jpg
The first fruit of my labor that until today it is still green and not yet ripe for harvest.

inbound5732402456563274900.jpg
Last night I visited and took a selfie with it.

inbound7756962921677425176.jpg
How great thy art! I could not express my feeling how it gives me a lot of fruits. It is just a single tomato. It came from rotten tomatoes from the refrigerator.

inbound5348842950197477908.jpg

Tips:

  • Remove the seeds and wash them with water.
  • Put it in a tissue and let it dry.
  • When it is already dried up, cultivate an area where you sow the seeds. Put a little amount of water
    Those are the first simple steps on how to have good seedlings from tomatoes.

After that, this will be the result, good harvest coming in the future.

inbound1871647119272371690.jpg
A lot of tomatoes in just single branches.

Throwback farming story

I was raised by my farmer parent and they trained me how to cultivate our land. I started going with them to earn from working to another land when I was just 9 years old. We are a poor family but we never borrow food from our neighbors or family members. My mother was the one who was a hard worker than my father. Living in a rural mountain part of my native land is hard to forget. That is why until now, even in the desert I am still cultivating a land. It makes me a healthy lifestyle when the sun's rays penetrate my body. I will be 51 years old this year, thanks to God, I proudly say, I have no sickness. I am just a crying lady to cry when my heart hurts from overthinking. Of course, I miss my family back home.

Farming in my homeland

Major agricultural systems include lowland irrigated farming, rainfed farming, and upland farming. Irrigated farm areas mainly grow rice and sugarcane whereas rainfed areas are planted with coconut, corn, and cassava.
Source

I choose to share the link above for you to read on how to have productive farming in my country. We could never be hungry if we try to make farming and gardening. Even the small part of your backyard could give us food if we utilize it. Look at me, I cultivated a small part of my employer's garden and I harvested a lot during this latest springtime. I am just featuring my tomatoes but I have more in my garden like spinach, bitter melon, hot chili, lemongrass, dates, aloe vera, basil, star apple, figs, oregano, and lemon. I also have periwinkle and Arabian jasmine flowers that sustained even in the summer.

So if I do it myself, there is no reason that you can't do it too.

As of this time, my tomatoes are not yet in season to harvest. I will give you an update maybe in a few days or week.

This is my entry for the QOTW that is initiated by @ecotrain. Thank you @eco-alex for this interesting task today.


Have a nice day everyone

HIVE ON TOGETHER!

It's me,

@olivia08

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

This is so much appreciated and thank you very much @pennsif

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Nothing impossible to garden in a difficult area like a desert land if we always make the experience of it. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.




image.png

Congrats for being OCD Nomination of The Day OCD DAILY - Issue #699.



For the information, the communities we're curating right now please check OCD Communities Incubation Program - Update #17. You are welcome to cross-post your posts from that community onto OCD with the peakd.com feature to get more visibility and engagement from the OCD subscribers.

 3 years ago  

Thank you for your post for this QOTW on gardening! You can check the tie up post on the link below...

Would you like to choose a question for the upcoming QOTW? If you would then please comment in the tie up post below:

https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-5-5-my-food-gardening-tips

HAVE A BEAUTIFUL DAY!

Thank you so much @ecotrain. I just love this community.