Baby Steps into a Practical Self-Sufficiency Journey | Loy Bukid

in ecoTrain2 years ago

img_0.06096242119818267.jpg

We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.Joseph Campbell

It's almost a month already after the storm happened, but it changed me in a way that I didn't expect. I can say that I am in lethargy right now. Partly because of losing my job and having no assurance of the future.

I do not expect the world to be okay again, but I do have a hope for it to be somehow less harder. Yesterday, I took a time off from my usual farm chores and just stroll around and outside the orchard. The calm, countryside view have always relieved me.

Old road towards the highlands

Around the orchard are rice fields, most of which are labored by tenants with two-thirds in share with their landlords. Early in January, the majority has planted for April's harvest. Most of the rice varieties right now takes about 90 days, than the older ones which takes 100 or more days until harvest. This allows the farmers to have up to 3 planting season a year, but usually it remains twice a year as they need time to focus on other crops such as coconuts and on their other activities.

Resting hut on the rice fields

After a year of coming back to my hometown, I am learning a lot about the traditional methods that the farmers are doing—both good and bad. One major problem of farmers are rising fertilizer costs, which is more than double than last planting season! Another recurring pains are pests: rats, insects, and the Golden Apple snails.

The golden-apple snails or locally called as 'kuhol' were introduced by the Department of Agriculture in the country as supplemental income, as they grow bigger and fast compared to the native species which are also are edible but not prolific. It turned out to be invasive and is now considered as pest.

Yes, rice farming isn't natural and still requires new methods to be eco-friendly, but the practicality of rice farming remains relevant and important. The main method of pest control, which is through chemicals, destroyed the 'new' flora and fauna of the rice fields. Before, there used to be fishes, freshwater prawns, and other flora and fauna aside from just the rice plant itself.

Soursop tree along the rice fields

That's why I aspire to be sustainable in my own little ways, because although humans hunger for food and other resources, the effects of our actions also impacts us and the future generations. An apology will never the solution, it is the actions that hold the answer.

In the generation where being a professional is highly priced, I took a step back and a step down, to also see if my skillset both benefits me and the future generations ahead of me. I admire people who were brave enough to insert farming, aside from their profession, into their daily life. It isn't easy—and it isn't normal—but they somehow continue doing it.

I started planting whatever seeds or planting materials I got my hands on, but I realized that I should be planting what I expect to eat or use in my daily life. It can be fruits, rootcrops, beans, leafy vegetables, etc.—it terms of food, the question is "would you even eat what you harvest?" While still starting out, I assume that practical self-sufficiency is the simplest that a person can do, and just keep going on into grander feats after that.

Doing a non-expert soil profiling for future comparison

Even before I started gardening, the orchard already existed for decades. It also had some seasonal plots beside from the fruit trees, though we know that the soil is not OK—it is muddy during wet season and rock-solid during the dry season. Conventional gardening will not work here.

What I did last year was implementing raised-beds, mulching, and adding cover crops. The food scraps at home goes into my compost pit or even directly into the garden. By next year, I hope the quality of the soil becomes better.

Silhouette of some of the crab-apples at home

It's still a long way to go, but I'll continue what I am doing so can provide safe produce to myself, my family, and to the community in the months and years to come.


PINNED POST

Clearing the Damage After the Storm
Instead of falling into anxiety, it took time to make use of what the storm had given.


Hive Support

How am I supporting Hive? I have been into Hive since it's early days, its ethos was the key driving force of my full migration. The level of witness availability and developers' passion to grow Hive with intent to protect and benefit the blockchain and community itself is the very essence of decentralization, while still being able to balance freedom and quality.

Without resources to become a witness and/or a whale curator, I encourage people who would stumble into my work to create quality contents that can also be consumed outside the Hive communities, through continual application of the desired level of quality in my blog and providing a method of selecting quality contents through HiveHealth.

Since my second hiatus due to urgent life intervention, I am building this account through consistent power ups and continual delegation to select curation services to support content curation even at minnow-level Hive Power.

A short-term goal is to go back to my near-dolphin state to personally support consistent authors. As a developer, I dream to redesign and deploy HiveHealth to inspire both authors and readers alike.




About Me

@oniemaniego is a software developer, but outside work, he experiments in the kitchen, writes poetry and fiction, paints his heart out, or toils under the hot sun.

Onie Maniego / Loy Bukid was born in Leyte, PH. He grew up in a rural area with a close-knit community and a simple lifestyle, he is often visiting his father's orchards during summer and weekends, which has a great impact on his works.

© 2022 Onie Maniego and Loy Bukid



Don't forget to vote, comment, and follow me.
Not yet on Hive? Earn while blogging.
Sign Up

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!