You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fallen trees resprout, telephone poles less so....

in ecoTrain4 years ago

Awww, so sorry about your tree friend! That's so sad. :( I do hope you're right and they grow new branches, though. Life Finds A Way, and all. :)
Yeah, we are so, so dependent on the structure built by others, and on globalization. Any minor hiccup to the system throws major wrenches into people's lives, and global weirding (a much better term, imo, that I stole from a book - Hot, Flat, and Crowded I think, but it's been a while so I'm not sure if that's the right book, lol) is going to throw in a lot more hiccups. I mean, pandemic hiccups were bad enough. I hope it shook some people awake into figuring out alternatives where they can.
I lament that I am unable to set up systems like you can on a farm, but I am trying to build community as much as I can so there are support systems among people. The government certainly doesn't give a sh*t about taking care of people or sustainability!