Plum foraging during a pandemic 🌿

in ecoTrain β€’ 3 years ago

This summer my family and I learned to forage a huge variety of food from the fields around us and store it for the winter because skills like this will become more and more important as time goes on. On this particular day we were visiting some Reine Claude plum trees which are a personal favourite of mine.

plums.jpg

In this film I give a little tour of the free edibles around our village and also introduce you to our colourful courtyard and new family cat.

I felt motivated a few days ago to edit this moment from the Summer because these same plum trees were recently cut down to make way for houses. And now our village has no more Reine Claude trees :(

Thank goodness I planted ten seeds!

I promise to continue them in a place where no one will ever cut them down.

feet.jpg

Sort: Β 

There used to be wild roses on the corner I used to pillage for rosehips. The council thought they were a weed. Not to me they bloody weren't! So frustrating. I hope they don't get rid of the wild apples and the hawthorn - I have my eye on them too! Maybe I need to hang a 'don't touch' sign on them.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I have to admit I didn't know rosehips were edible till this year! Thankfully there are loads of them in the forest above our house where no one will ever chop 'em ;)

My trick is to collect seeds from everything. I know it's a long road back to a producing plant but at least you know you're covered.