You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 25 Skills That Are Going to be In Demand If We’re All thrown back On Our Own Resources

in ecoTrain4 years ago

17 ticks from that list is the sign of a life well lived my friend. Am pretty sure you could make some fab music with all the different tools of a mechanic ;)

I had a little count just for you and I would say I am relatively proficient at six of them, all the food related stuff plus carpentry, teaching & spiritual guidance at a push! Have always fancied making an instrument but never tried...

Interestingly, my partner Sabrina has many more ticks than me, which actually takes the pressure off me a bit ;) She is a trained electrician & mechanic (the most beautiful electrician in France!), she is great with leather making & has all the right kit for that. Also just yesterday she began a sewing & clothes making course which she will do one day a week for the next six months. Between us I would say we cover around ten, which should keep us trading skills for many years to come.

Something else I am thinking will be useful moving forward is the ability to construct basic homes in the middle of the woods. Have always felt like the safety of a permanent home is really just an illusion, especially when the home is connected to a street! Never tried doing this but I am pretty sure I would have a great time with it and end up with something quite decent...and who knows, perhaps it might even be waterproof. The SAS Survival Handbook was one of my favourite childhood books ;)