Showing off our home-grown pumpkins & re-organising our emergency food boxes

in ecoTrain3 years ago

1.jpg

I know pumpkins are traditionally harvested in time for halloween but we decided ours needed a little longer, harvesting them a just few days ago. These beauties will last all winter and are destined for the soup pot.

Having never grown pumpkins before I feel quite impressed by that big one which we discovered right at the end of the season hiding under a bush ;)

2.jpg

I understand the small ones are actually not edible and only for decoration. They were gifted to us as baby plants so we grew them anyway. And I am glad we did now. Will post a pic when we find a decorative home for them.

Gaining food independence

Growing food is quite obviously the solution to rising prices, shortages and a world which may eventually force you to take a vaccine in order to be 'safe' enough to enter shops. Storing food on the other hand is the simplest solution, especially if you can find a decent hiding place for everything.

At the end of this season we were able to store a load of foraged & home-grown food. Any of you who followed my posts this year will already know how busy we have been learning about this subject.

We also have emergency food boxes which basically represent is all the stuff we cannot produce ourself. Or at least, cannot produce easily. And some naughty stuff like chocolate! Which is still important during an apocalypse ;)

Yesterday morning we went through everything and re-boxed it all using the best before date as the storage system. The 2020 box has been added to our regular food cupboards and will be eaten over the next few months.

Screen Shot 20201108 at 11.03.51.png

I don't recall what my goal was at the beginning of this year but if the food shops were to close tomorrow I believe we would survive comfortably for a year and with my new knowledge of food which grows naturally around here, perhaps indefinitely.

Hey, I have a question for you...

We have multiple packets of sugar, salt & coconut oil which don't have a best before date. Does this mean they last forever?

3.jpg

Here is the film I shot on the day we bought all this food, in the wake of a growing yellow vest movement which had me feeling a small sense of concern. Dec 10th 2019

Moments such as this, having fun together as a family in a supermarket, will seem strange to us ten years from now, so I am glad I have this particular memory recorded.

Love & Light everyone 🌱

GOPR2426.jpg

Sort:  

We have multiple packets of sugar, salt & coconut oil which don't have a best before date. Does this mean they last forever?

....pretty much.
(i've stopped going off any 'sell by dates' for years now - and no bad effects).

I wonder if i can ship you some pies? (proper English tasting ones, to!)lol
https://leofinance.io/hive-167922/@lucylin/pies-trump-posts-doing-the-business

Legend! Thanks for answering the question.

Yes please, plenty of proper English pies sounds like a fab idea!

...Oils that are sealed have been found to be edible centuries after bottling!

We've sold over 40 pies now in 2 days! lol(they are very good).

I say 'we' - I mean Luce of course - but I'll bask in her glory seeing as i showed her how to make them!lol
...if it carries on like this, I'll b able to deliver you half a dozen to you personally!

Pumpkin and butternut soup are a favourite for me. My mom is sure to make plenty for the winter.

We have plenty of butternut too, so that soup is in the menu for sure ;)

Good to hear you mum is a soup maker too!

Yes, in the winter months there is soup in the slow cooker every day. Her vegetable soup is the best - and never the same.

Very impressive crop of pumpkins!! That one is a giant pumpkin.

Your cat is having a good look out post! So cute that cat! Looking so much at home.

Your food boxes are very impressive! I haven’t reached that state of readiness yet! There’s still a lot to be done after I saw what you are up to!!

Thanks for sharing!

I like to cover myself for all eventualities and I also like to treat it like a fun game rather than anything serious. Perhaps we will never need any of these 'survival' items, but better safe than sorry ;)

Yeah! I think your approach is very safe and wise too! We should all be prepping just in case.

Cheers.

I am enraptured by Luna's smiling face: she expresses infinite sweetness, doesn't she?

!BEER and a huge hug!

It makes me smile because she is currently on a classic three year old streak where there is a lot of crying and "I don't like that food any more" kind of statements. So yes, she looks like an angel but this can be rather hard to see at times, through all the tears and screaming ;)

Looking forward to the next phase of her development which traditionally is calmer. Or at least, that's how it was with Esteban!

Males and females also have very different phases and characteristics: don't expect anything equal to Esteban!

!ENGAGE 30
!BEER


Hey @samstonehill, here is a little bit of BEER from @amico for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @sajannair on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Appreciated :)

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)