You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being vulnerable is scary

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

I will read the comment more carefully later, I’m in between classes now, but I thought I could drop a quick note cause the beginning already stirred up a bunch of interesting thoughts:

The non-binary paradigm is a narrative just like the binary one, and it also comes from the west (with a few isolated exceptions, I’ve heard of one or two tribes). The way people use the word privilege now is also part of a narrative that I am no longer a part of.

Still, both point to real issues, but then they have become concepts which are easily weaponized, both by angry individuals (I empathize) and by larger more sinister forces. I have trans friends and it’s a little weird to me, and I love the fact that the two or three trans people I’ve connected with are graceful enough to let me be a little weirded out and confused. We try to understand each other.

I kind of feel that we are best served by hearing all perspectives. I try my best not to call a culture backwards just because there is a general idea that men and women have different roles. I only reject the rigidity that doesn’t allow for a group of people with different values to peacefully coexist. That goes for the “left” and “right” , “conservative” and “liberal”.

All that being said, I am 99% sure I’d feel the same way as you with the person you are talking about.

Sorry if this isn’t perfectly replying to your comment it was a lot and in the first paragraph or two I already had this much to say hahaha

Anyways we should catch up soon and I’ll check your posts to see what you’ve been up to.