Fall Garden Update: Tomatoes

in ecoTrain4 years ago

One of my tomato plants is doing quite well, its as tall as me with the help of the cage I built around it. We have gotten about half a dozen tomatoes so far. Maybe we will get a few more before the plant is done for the year. The other plant is still quite small and only produced one or two tomatoes. Not sure why one did so much better than the other. Maybe one got a little more light than the other though they are right next to each other.

It has outgrown the cage and is now overflowing on top of the sweet potato beds. A few of the tomatoes reached the ground and had to be cut off, but many of them started to ripen on the vine and I harvest them when they just start to blush on their bottom. I did not see the pollinators that visited these plants, but something must have as I got fruit from the result.

Next year I will try to start them earlier, and due to that I should be able to make many clones of them to grow. This year I started some cuttings in the middle of the summer and they did not have enough time to form flowers and fruit. Maybe next year will be different for the cuttings. Hoping to have enough to keep a flow of ripening tomatoes. By only have two plants I found myself weeks apart between ripening fruits, meaning I would have to buy tomatoes at the market and that is not preferable. Id rather grow all my own.

When it comes to these tomatoes, I find giving them as much space as possible works well as they tend to over grow the cages. Maybe I need some better welded wire cages but for now I am using some smaller plastic ones.

At this point in the year everything is slowing down and the leaves are starting to wilt, so there may not be much time left for this time year. But next year we will do it all over again with these annuals.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Sort:  

I like the variety of tomatoes with softer flesh so I can crush it with my hand easily @solominer
The varieties in the market here in my place sells the one with tougher body, it is because it is better for handling when transporting from farm to market, so farmers just prefers to grow those varieties which are actually GMO tomatoes.

Oh wow I did not know they made a tomato with harder flesh. I wonder if I have ever seen one. Or maybe all the market ones are that and I just never realized.

I like tomatoes too.. I put them on my sandwiches and burgers.

#archon #creativecoin #ctp
Good communities
Hope you like it.

Would be red 🍅

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency