Fragrant plants (Rosemary, Lavender and Bee balm)

in ecoTrain3 years ago

When entering a garden, the changes of smell can be quite enjoyable. I am trying to get some plants going that smell good too. Lavender was planted last year and honestly alot of it died. About half of them planted I do not think made it. But a few did, I think I will buy some more maybe a little bigger next time and see how they do. The ones I got were real small and maybe a little too young to be placed in the ground. Hard to say for sure what killed them, but just glad many survived regardless.

Camera ModelLumix GH3
LensOlympus MSC ED M. 60mm Macro lens
Filternone
Aperturef/7.1
Shutter Speed1/320 sec
Film Speed200
SpectrumVisual Light
Wavelength380 through 700 nanometers
LocationNorth Georgia USA.

This plant and others shown in this post have a nice smell to them. Hoping as the grow larger and the suns rays hits the plants it will give the area a nice smell. Right now these lavender plants are only a couple inches tall so it may be a few years before I get some large ones that smell nice like my Jasmine vine when it flowers.

Bee Balm is another plant recommended for its nice smell. And as the name suggests it has a nice scent that pollinators enjoy too. I just planted it last year so its pretty small right now.

When I planted the Bee Balm it was just a small plant with maybe a couple stems of growth. But now it has expanded across the ground and should be quite bigger this year I am thinking.

Rosemary is another new addition to my garden, I planted some Tuscan blue rosemary last year and they are quite small. But this year someone was throwing away some bigger plants. So I got them and put them in soil. Hoping they do well there.

No new growth yet, but I just planted them a month or so ago. Hoping over the summer it will form some new leaves. The smell of the plant is pretty amazing when I was handling it.

I plan on cooking with the Bee balm and Rosemary, maybe I can do the same with the Lavender but not sure. All and all I just hope it gives the area a nice smell to it and maybe keep the mosquitoes a little further away. Maybe I can use the leaves to make an insect repellent, but I will let them get bigger before harvesting them for spices or their oils.

Curious if there are other fragrant plants people would recommend? I remember eucalyptus trees smelling good, but I do not think I can grow those where I live.


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Sort:  

Rosemary is wonderful for cooking. Lavender can be dried easily and if you crumble it and put it into a sock that lost its mate and tie the open end into a knot you have a quick and easy potpourri you can put in a drawer or in your car. There are many other uses. That’s just one idea.

We are looking forward to using rosemary in some cooking that's for sure. I'll need to give the sock a try with some of the lavender once it grows up more.. thanks for the ideas.

 3 years ago  

Thank you for posting to the ecoTrain community! Your post has been featured in our What's Up Curation. Please do drop in and leave a comment, and of course check out some of the other great people and posts.

https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@ecotrain/whats-up-from-the-ecotrain-community-season-2-2-sustainable-living

Oh sweet thanks alot!