Many flowers forming on the Sweet Potato vines

in ecoTrain4 years ago

I had one or two of these flowers last year, but this year I have dozens of them. Maybe because I put more spuds in the ground this year.

20200822_081156.jpg

I could collect the seeds and then grow them next year from the beginning. But I think I'll just wait and try the slips again.

20200822_081155.jpg

Bumblebees have been quite busy pollinating all of them. I hear buzzing coming from that mess of vines when I get close.

20200822_081151.jpg

The flower is really pretty, a mix of purple and white. They only last a day or so.

20200822_081148.jpg

I hear it's pretty rare for Sweet Potatoes to flower.. and amazed I got close to a dozen of them.

20200822_081140.jpg

I have eaten some of the leaves this year and they are pretty good. Gotta try sauteing them.

20200822_081132.jpg

I keep finding vines trying to grow out of the raised beds I put them in. When this happens I take the vine and route it back into the beds.

20200822_081124.jpg

Usually when I see these flowers I know the season is about half way over. Once the vines and leaves yellow it will be time to pull them all up.

20200822_081119.jpg

Amazed every year how much these vines will put on new growth. Once it gets hot outside it really kicks off their growing season. And once we get some freezes it will be time to harvest them.

Sort:  

Those are pretty. I wonder how sweet potatoes would do here. I shall have to look into growing them We have grown regular potatoes, but we like some variety.

When grown as an annual they will grow anywhere. Just buy some sweet potatoes at your market. Wait for them to form eyes, cut them up. Let them dry for a day and then put them in the ground. Probably better to do this next year as it's getting kind of late in the season to start them now. Depending on when your frosts start.

I like sweet potatoes more as they are pest resistant. Not much eat them.

I'll look into that for next year. Hope you get a good crop.

I wish that I could have some of that variety that you are growing @solominer
A good variety has a bigger vine so that the sweet potato young leaves are bigger too, very nice and delicious to eat with some rice and fried fish or even in soups too :D

Hah I'd give you some if I could. Yeah the leaves are big and alot of them. Pretty cool I can eat the leaves.

 4 years ago (edited) 

When you say the flowers last about an only a day, do you mean that the flowers die every 24 hours and well another replaces it for another day?

Yeah they only stay open for a day or two and then close up and fall off the vine. It seems they do produce new flowers. But since I have so many spuds in the ground its hard to tell if the same plant is flowering again.

Oh they look amazing! Mine haven't started flowering yet. They remind me of morning glory flowers. Looks like you are in for a great crop. Absolutely one of my favourite foods!

Thanks alot, really glad with how they came out. I hear it's rare for sweet potatoes to flower. And yeah they do have that appearance. They are in the same family as morning glory.

Me too. I love roasting them the sweetness is like nothing else.

pretty flowers with insects, great timing to capture it.

Thanks alot.. yeah I was lucky to get a picture or two with the bee in it.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @deepu7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!