Planting 2 Cherry trees and 2 Cherry bushes

in ecoTrain4 years ago

The last few years we have been buying alot of Cherries at the market. And with some free space I thought it would be a good idea to plant some Cherry trees and bushes. It may take a few years to get a tree that produces, so now is a good time to start. A few years from now I should have many Cherries if the trees are happy.

I already have Minnie Royal planted, along with a Black Tartarian Cherry tree. I planted them early this year. Though those two trees will not pollinate each other from the reading ive done. So to fill that gap I got two more Cherry trees, this time within the right flowering group. Which dictates which trees and compatible with others. All based on which week of the year they flower.

I bought two Lapins semi-dwarf Cherry trees, and two Hansen bush Cherries. The Lapins should be compatible with the Black Tartarian Cherry tree. But as for the Minnie Royal, I have to find another one that flowers at the same time. Ive come across some online but they want over $70 for them. I usually pay $30 for a tree so it bothered me and I did not buy another. I cannot just buy another Minnie Royal as Cherry trees need to be different cultivars to cross pollinate.

The Hansen bush cherries should cross pollinate between each other, from what ive read they can be the same cultivar. The Cherries produced are small so I didn't want many, just thought it would be fun to have a Cherry bush along with the trees.

I find good spots to plant these, and prefilled the holes with mulch as I was waiting for them. Hopefully adding some nutrients to the soil. I plant them with the cutting of the tree above ground. This is where the graft spot is, and how I got semi dwarfs. The trees should be more controllable than a standard Cherry tree being smaller.

Hah my Peach tree is a standard and its alot of work to keep up with it. So I think having a semi dwarf will help keep the pruning to a reasonable amount.

It may take a few years before the Cherry trees produce any Cherries. But I think it will be well worth the wait.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Sort:  

@solominer that's a good one, Cherries and I am not sure it's grown here. Weldone

Cherries require cold temperatures most of the year. Where I live we get enough to let them grow.

Ok. Thanks for the response.

Maybe next year some cherries :-)

I hope so but ya never know. When they do show up I'll be happy.

 4 years ago  

im sure it will be worth the wait.. and the best is when you sort of forget about it and then one day...... CHERRIES! ;-)

I think it will too. Hopefully it will only be a year or two of waiting.

Looking forward to it.

Thanks alot for the comment :)

Its a good task to plant some cherries. Continue this good work. It will not only increase the beauty but also contribute in the green World.

Well said "A few years from now I should have many Cherries if the trees are happy."

I am glad I'm growing them now, and yeah it's good to have more trees regardless of how much they feed me. Thanks for the comment.