Two bumblebees feeding on Comfrey flowers

in ecoTrain4 years ago

I put bulbs in the ground last year and they are already producing an amazing amount of leaves and flowers too. The Bumblebees are on them during the mornings. I got a few pictures of them feeding on the flowers.

20200727_084951.jpg

I have already cut back these plants once but I may have to cut them back again before the end of the year. In the mean time bumblebees will get to fees on them. They also seem to rest on them. I find the bees on them at sunrise and they seem to be just laying still. Alot like that one I found in the passionflower vine.

20200727_084953.jpg

I get a couple kinds of bumblebees. A big version and a smaller version. And their hairs come in yellow and white. So there could be a variety of these bees hanging around.

20200727_084957.jpg

I may try making homes for these bumblebees. They are helpful in the garden. Not to be confused with carpenter bees which are more destructive and bore into wood.

Sort:  

We had carpenter bees. They bored holes in our deck for years. I tried plugging the holes, they just made more. I didn't want to use pesticides since I'm against them generally. Finally replaced the deck which got rid of them once and for all.

Oh man yeah I know what you mean.. same problem here. I tried to fill in the holes too. Interestingly they became less of an issue when some solitary bees took over their homes. I see alot less of them these days.

I do love bumbles! Smart of them to be enjoying your comfrey

Hah they love that comfrey, ever since it flowered the bees have been all over it.

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 86000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 87000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @deepu7 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!