FARM-MOM SMILES A LITTLE MORE WITH EVERY NAIL, and that makes me 😊

in ecoTrain β€’ 3 years ago (edited)

Back at it, and not a minute too soon! Knowing that there was a lot of hobbitizing that needed to take place over the next two days, I was up before the rooster's first crow. What was on the agenda for the next couple of days was to build a set of stairs, concrete pad, and do all of the soffit work around the sunroom.
Having determined the location and the placement of the pad, and the run + rise of the staircase, I was set up, and ready to get busy by eight that morning.

IMG_5017.JPG

The key to building any staircase is to make sure that you come perfectly level off of the floor system.
This will ensure that every tread is level. The last thing you want is to have a tread pitched forward or backward.

IMG_5018.JPG

There are a bunch of numbers here and these are the only ones that are needed to build any staircase. I'll take a second to explain them.

*Rise-30", the vertical distance from where the stairs will land to the floor system of the structure.

*Run 44", the horizontal distance from the face of the building, to where the front edge of the staircase will land.

  • 6 on 11 is simply the rise and the run that I calculated for this staircase. Every time you go from one step to the next, you'll be stepping up 6" and your foot will be landing on an 11 1/2" tread. The extra 1/2" will provide a nosing for each tread.

IMG_5029.JPG

Calculating the correct run will dictate exactly where you want to place your landing pad.
The ideal situation is to have the staircase rest on the pad, leaving enough of the pad to step on before climbing the first step.

IMG_5020.JPG

After setting the form for the pad, I added some gravel to the area.
Having everything pitched correctly around the concrete pad would make sure that any water would run away from the building.
This little hand roller is great for jobs like this.
Compacting the gravel will help to keep it in place.

IMG_5022.JPG

With the landing pad for the staircase completed, it was time to call in the expert for the big concrete pour. Having done such a swell job on some of the other cement work I had used her for, I didn't hesitate to call in @farm-mom. She's the best mason for miles around and her prices are great.

#ladiesofhive, if you ever need a mason she'd be the one I'd call.

IMG_5024.JPG

Now that's what I'm talken about!

IMG_5025.JPG

The following day the concrete was cured, and I was able to land the staircase on the pad.

You can see in this picture how the bottom of the staircase stringer is seated level on the pad.
Correct placement of the landing has also given me a nice piece pipe of the pad in front of the stairs.

Thanks, @farm-mom for proofreading.πŸ‘

Since there will be no siding installed between the stair stringers, I installed flashing to protect that area from the elements.
By having the flashing extent past the sides of the stringers, and below the sheathing, everything will be watertight.

Since the beginning of this project, I have mentioned the exorbitant price of lumber.
When picking up the pressure-treated lumber for the staircase, Lowes only had 2"x12"x16'boards.
They were getting $80.00 for a 2"x12"X16'board. I purchased one and was able to get two stingers and two treads for the staircase. For the two remaining treads I needed only six feet, so I decided I would temporarily use a piece of rough sawn lumber for the two missing treads. When some eight-foot boards were in stock I'd pick one up and save close to $50.00.

IMG_5027.JPG

With the stairs in place, it was time to frame out and soffit the eves.
A simple scaffolding setup put all of the soffit work right in my wheelhouse!😁😁
IMG_5031.JPG

The dog ears at the gable end tied in nicely with the fascia board and the nailer fastened to the house. I had installed one window and decided that it would be best to wait until @ryan313 showed up before installing the other windows.

IMG_5032.JPG

For the gable end of the sunroom, I worked off of a couple of ladders. It took a few trips up and down the ladders, but exercise is never a bad thing.

IMG_5046.JPG

It was about 5:00 PM and the soffit work was done.

IMG_5047.JPG

@farm-mom and I went back and forth with what color we wanted for the soffit. Once all of the soffits were installed, we were happy we chose the brown over the white.

IMG_5048.JPG

By the end of the second day, we were ready for our son to return.
During his next stay, I hoped to install the other three windows, hang the door, and side the sunroom.
Now, if the weather cooperates while he's here, a couple of long days of hobbitizing should put me where I want to be.

Sort: Β 

Hi thebigsweed,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

You guys have a great day also. Thanks for your continued support, greatly appreciated!

I really like the look of that soffit material. Great work once again!! Once my table saw comes in, I will be getting started myself. First I want to finish my big work bench.
!BEER

The vinyl soffit is very easy to work with. It comes in solid, partially vented, and full vented. I like the full vented soffit because it allows for the most airflow.
BIG WORKBENCH.πŸ‘

What a cool documentation's. I almost stopped mid-red and asked what the run and rise was but as per usual, you explained.

Very nice @thebigsweed.

Hey @dandays, did I mis-red something, or what? OR maybe it's my glasses?
I do need a new pair , the sweed has been bugging me for months to go get them, but the only vision centered within a 100 miles of here , just closed. πŸ˜‚

Mid-red. It's when you mix magenta, yellow, and a splash of white. I guess orangeyreddish wasn't catchy enough.

Do yourself a favor, ask Pura to proof red for you.

Β 3 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

I haven't laughed that loud like I did just now in awhile.

#poofredding (it's when you typo 'proof' in your own hashtag)

I wanna keep doing edits like this so you keep receiving messages from me that return you to poofred

Thanks, my friend.

I am so glad you appreciate my skills, masonry is an artform you know. Not everyone has the hands for it.
I guess you just got lucky.πŸ˜™

Haha you two are too cute xz

Aweeee thanks, we are also a little nuts also, which helps actually. hehehe

Wow, impressive!! Winters such a good time for those kind of jobs. Good to see you working as a team!

Thank you @riverflows. Winter is also a good time of the year to get out of town and head south.


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @splatts for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks for the beer @splatts, this is the season to be jolly!