You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collecting endless sugar from banana trees 🌴

in ecoTrain2 years ago

Are you going bananas, mon ami?

Pretty sweet to tap your own sugar, straight from a banana plant.
I love to see all the changes that have taken place in the last 4 years, around your place. It's pretty magical :<)

Sort:  

I probably am going bananas to be honest. Having a conversation with a local man about sugar yesterday I realise now I could just be growing sugar beats! "A sugar beet is a plant whose root contains a high concentration of sucrose and which is grown commercially for sugar production".

And so, I do not in fact need to be milking my bananas every day! Though knowing nothing about the process behind turning a beet into sugar I would say my syringe is probably the simplest option for now ;)

I already knew about sugar beets as a kid. I think I learnt about them, driving past a sugar ( beet processing ) factory, in The Netherlands, with my parents.

In all honesty, I would prefer banana sugar, as I relate sugar beets to factories and big industry but, then again, if you could do it organically, small scale, without too much hassle, this would be an entirely different story :<)