A beginning perhaps

in Psychology3 years ago (edited)

Hi Hive World

I noticed there are no active communities specifically for psychology and mental health recovery on Hive, though there are a couple of topic-adjacent communities like C/Self-Improvement. So I thought I'd start one and see what happens. Others seem to have attempted this in the past with C/Psychology Now and C/Mental Health so maybe there's no great demand. But I do see a lot of relevant content floating around on here. Perhaps the timing is right and this could be a welcome addition to the ecosystem.

It'd certainly be welcome to me - I am a clinical psychologist with lived experience of recovery and a background in the service-user/survivor movement working to reduce stigma and discrimination about mental-health problems. Aside from poetry, performance, and visual art, this is my main area of interest.

Feel free to subscribe and start posting. I would love to see people post reflections, free-writes, poems, short-stories, art work, book reviews, research news, blog about your own research, strategies that work for you, resources, changes you want to see in the community or within services... anything at all that contributes to our collective understanding of any aspect of mental health, mental-health problems, or recovery.

Cross-posting welcome. I'll kick things off with a few posts sharing my research and by cross-posting a couple of poems. But for now, here's this...

ACT_How2FeelFeelings.jpg

[edit: updated the first paragraph to acknowledge there are communities here on Hive that share a lot of overlap with psychology and mental health]

Sort:  

This is amazing. I love this meme. Feeling your feelings and admitting them is something that @ryzeonline taught me (he also sent me your post because he knew I'd love it). He taught me that my feelings are valid and it's ok to feel them and to admit them. And that I have total control over them. He also taught me how to change my feelings when they don't feel great. It's an incredible lesson.

I'm so glad you shared this and congrats on your new community. I look forward to sharing some things in there as well.

@ryzeonline has a few posts that you might find helpful A Complete Beginners Guide To Hive (w fun doodles), A great post on thumbnails & titles (headlines), and They Want A Sip Of QUALI-TEA (Content).

If not all good. I just thought I'd share. I'm psyched to see more of your content.

~love, Cyn

I will defo check those links out, thanks!

Great you created this community! @crosheille is part of the OCD team and she once said that I should tag her if I find something that could be interesting. So here I am tagging and hoping for some !LUV

Thanks for the tag @solymi ;)

Hi @mirilarbarr. I know that the @naturalmedicine community touches on #mentalhealthawareness, #meditation and #inner-peace. Perhaps you could correlate with the leaders from there? There are people who use these tags and post there in that community.

@solymi because there is already a community that touches on these things I’m not sure if this would be picked up or not by the ocd team for the incubation program. We generally look for new niches (different kinds than the ones we already support) and communities that haven’t already been established.

However, there may be a need for this topic to have a home all by itself. Let’s see how this takes off and how many are interested.

I will submit your efforts for an upvote :)

Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I saw natural medicine but it's an entirely different field so it didn't appeal to me. While it's got a bit in common in terms of a focus on wellbeing it's not actually a recognised mental health discipline so what you find there will be super variable in terms of relevance and reliability.

I guess I have made something I want rather than something to fill a niche. Might not work at all. But I do see many people making posts on these topics and maybe they are just waiting for a dedicated space to share them too. Though stigma can often stop people wanting to explicitly associate their content with mental health. Tis OK if it just evolves organically, I didn't even know there was an incubator project!

There's lots of places on Facebook and Twitter for the sharing of blogs but they are so capitalist and manipulated by algorithms whereas the decentralized nature of peakd appeals to my inner activist in the way the internet did in the 90s, before the advertisers caught wind of it and turned it into a huge replica of Aldous Huxley's worst nightmares.

I appreciate the upvote on this lil experiment.

Thanks for taking the time to explain why you created this community and what you are hoping for. I definitely understand better now. I think it's good you created what you wanted and I hope many others can benefit from it ;)

Sure, no problem at all. Take care ~

Thanks for having a look! I just try to help our new members as much as I can :)
!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@crosheille! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @solymi.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (5/10)

Oh yes for sure. It was no problem at all.

Thanks for the pizza!

Congratulations @mirilarbarr! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for creating a spot for this important topic :) best of luck! Keep up the great work!

@andrastia I thought you may be interested in this ;)

Love the community's profile pic and background! They look great.

I love this... I am a doctor and the amount of people I see with mental health issues keep increasing on a daily basis...

Thanks! I have let it slip a bit as I got busy but hope to get back to posting again soon.

Good post. Very informative. Thank you.
here's some gift token for you.
!LOLZ

The punch line comes first.
The worst thing about time travel jokes is…

Credit: reddit
@mirilarbarr, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @pynutbater
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (3/4)